jump to content

jump to navigation

Sugar processing

Energy

What forms of energy does a sugar factory need?
Thermal and electrical energy are needed to process sugar. Both forms of energy are obtained in a combined heat and power plant. Thermal energy is needed to turn the water into steam. The water is heated using waste heat flows.

How much energy does a sugar factory need?
The energy requirement of a sugar factory depends on the number of beet processed per day: At 10,000 tonnes of sugar beet per day, the boiler will require about 1,750 MWh and drying the slices 750.5 MWh.

Is heavy oil or gas used to produce steam?
The factories can use both fuels in a bivalent firing process. The fuel that is used will depend on availability and market price.

Why is raw lignite also used?
Raw lignite is a local German fuel, whose use depends on availability and market price, as in the case of other fuels. Modern processes ensure that the process is environmentally friendly.

What is the contribution of electrical energy?
A works processing 10,000 tonnes of sugar beet per day on average will require about 250 MWh of electrical energy. The electrical energy required is generated by a combined heat and power plant located in the works themselves. Electricity is normally only bought in if there are malfunctions in the power plant or turbine.

Is waste heat used?
Thermal energy is generated in a sugar factory's own combined heat and power plant. The factory actually only requires heat at one point in the process: the first stage of the evaporation unit. The steam resulting from evaporation at this stage is re-cycled for evaporation and heating purposes. This principle is repeated 5 or 6 times, which means that about 75 % of a sugar factory's energy requirement is covered by waste heat. Heat flows (condensates) leave the factory at a temperature of between 30 °C and 50 °C. The utilisation of the heat flows is subject to technical and economic limits.

Wouldn't it be possible to also obtain energy from the steam that is released into the open air at a number of points?
These are waste gases that have been mixed with a large amount of steam. The temperature of the waste gases is less than 100 °C. The condensation temperature of steam is less than 70 °C. Significant amounts of thermal energy can only be recovered below this temperature. The technical cost of such a process would be very high, however. There are therefore technical and economic limits to the use of these heat flows.

What comes out of the drying tower?
Mainly steam, which results from the drying of the exhausted slices of sugar beet.

Why does the steam from the chimney smell?
Because it contains traces of organic substances that were contained in the beet itself or have been formed during processing.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Zuckergewinnung

Energie

Welche Energie braucht eine Zuckerfabrik?
Für die Zuckergewinnung ist thermische und elektrische Energie erforderlich. In einer Kraft-Wärme-Kopplungsanlage werden beide Energieformen bereitgestellt. Die thermische Energie ist zum Verdampfen des Wassers erforderlich. Die Anwärmung erfolgt mit Abwärmeströmen.

Wie hoch ist der Energiebedarf einer Zuckerfabrik?
Der Energiebedarf einer Zuckerfabrik richtet sich nach ihrer täglichen Rübenverarbeitung: Bei 10.000 t Rüben/Tag beträgt der Energiebedarf im Kesselhaus rund 1.750 MWh und für die Schnitzeltrocknung 750,5 MWh.

Wird zur Dampferzeugung Schweröl oder Gas verwendet?
Die Fabriken können beide Brennstoffe einsetzen (sog. bivalente Feuerung). Welcher Brennstoff jeweils eingesetzt wird, hängt von der Verfügbarkeit und vom Marktpreis ab.

Warum wird auch Rohbraunkohle verfeuert?
Rohbraunkohle ist ein einheimischer Brennstoff, dessen Einsatz sich nach Verfügbarkeit und Marktpreis richtet -wie bei anderen Brennstoffen auch. Moderne Verfahren sichern einen umweltgerechten Betrieb.

Welche Rolle spielt Elektroenergie?
Für ein Werk mit einer durchschnittlichen täglichen Rübenverarbeitung von 10.000 t beträgt der Elektroenergiebedarf rund 250 MWh. Die benötigte Elektroenergie wird im Werk selbst in einer Kraft-Wärme-Kopplungsanlage erzeugt. Ein Bezug von Elektroenergie findet in der Regel nur bei Störungen im Kraftwerk oder an der Turbine statt.

Wird Abwärme genutzt?
Die Wärmeenergie für die Zuckerfabrik wird in eigenen Kraft-Wärme-Kopplungsanlagen gewonnen. Die Fabrik selbst wird nur an einer Stelle, der ersten Stufe der Verdampfstation, beheizt. Der beim Verdampfen in dieser Stufe entstehende Wasserdampf wird wiederum für Verdampfen und Anwärmen genutzt. Dieses Prinzip setzt sich über etwa 5 bis 6 Stufen fort. So werden etwa 75 % des Energiebedarfes einer Zuckerfabrik aus Abwärme gedeckt. Die Fabrik verlassen Wärmeströme (Kondensate) mit einer Temperatur von etwa 30 bis 50 °C. Für die Nutzung dieser Wärmeströme bestehen technische und betriebswirtschaftliche Grenzen.

Könnte man den Dampf, der an mehreren Stellen ins Freie ausgeleitet wird, nicht auch zur Energiegewinnung nutzen?
Es handelt sich dabei um Abgase, die mit Wasserdampf stark angereichert sind. Die Temperatur dieser Abgase liegt unter 100 °C. Die Kondensationstemperatur des Wasserdampfes unter 70 °C. Erst unter dieser Temperatur lassen sich nennbare Wärmemengen zurückgewinnen. Allerdings wäre der technische Aufwand dafür sehr groß. Somit bestehen für die Nutzung dieser Wärmeströme technische und betriebswirtschaftliche Grenzen.

Was kommt aus dem Kamin raus?
Hauptsächlich Wasserdampf, der bei der Trocknung der ausgelaugten Rübenschnitzeln entsteht.

Warum riecht der Dampf aus dem Schornstein?
Weil darin Spuren organischer Stoffe enthalten sind, die in der Rübe selbst enthalten waren oder bei der Verarbeitung daraus gebildet wurden.