jump to content

jump to navigation

Fiscal year 2016/17

CropEnergies segment

Overview

CropEnergies Group is responsible for the bioethanol business in Germany, Belgium, France and Great Britain. The company is a leading producer of sustainably produced bioethanol in Europe and has a total annual production capacity of 1.3 million m³ of bioethanol and over one million tonnes of high-protein food and animal feed. CropEnergies also holds a 50 % interest in CT Biocarbonic GmbH, which operates a food-grade CO2 liquification plant in Zeitz with an annual production capacity of 100,000 tonnes.
CropEnergies was again able to improve its results from operations in fiscal 2016/17. Production and sales volumes were significantly higher than the year prior. The restart of the production plant in Wilton, Great Britain, in July 2016 was a major contributing factor. Lower raw material prices also had a positive impact on the results from operations. In contrast, despite a favorable ethanol price trend in the final quarter, selling prices realized were mostly lower than last year.

Key figures for the CropEnergies segment



2016/172015/16
RevenuesEUR million726658
EBITDAEUR million135122
Depreciation of fixed assets and intangible assetsEUR million-37-35
Operating resultEUR million9887
Restructuring/special itemsEUR million-4-18
Income from companies consolidated at equityEUR million00
Result from operationsEUR million9469
EBITDA margin%18.618.5
Operating margin%13.413.2
Investments in fixed assetsEUR million1617
Investments in financial assets/acquisitionsEUR million00
Total investmentsEUR million1617
Capital employedEUR million479490
Return on capital employed%20.417.2
Employees
412416
Revenues and operating result
The CropEnergies segment's revenues rose year-over-year to € 726 (658) million, driven mainly by higher bioethanol production volumes, as well as food and animal feed, as a result of the restart of the plant in Wilton. This more than offset the reduced trading volumes due to higher in-house production and lower ethanol sales revenues.
The division’s operating result again improved considerably despite declining ethanol sales revenues, beating last year's unusually strong result and hitting a record of € 98 (87) million. Key drivers were sharply higher production and sales volumes and declining net raw material and energy costs.
Result of restructuring and special items
The result of restructuring and special items of € -4 (-18) million was in part for expenses from spirits tax risks in Germany in connection with ethanol sales. It also contains the fixed costs related to the outage at the bioethanol factory at the Wilton site prior to the restart in July 2016, and income from the reversal of the balance of shutdown-related accruals required to fulfill contractual obligations. Last year, the fixed costs for the outage were included for the entire fiscal year.
Capital employed and return on capital employed (ROCE)
Capital employed at € 479 (490) million was slightly less than last year. Write-downs were significantly higher than investments, which offset increased working capital. The improved operating result of € 98 (87) million drove ROCE to 20.4 (17.7) %.
Investments
Investments totaled € 16 (17) million. In addition to replacement investments, especially noteworthy investments were those aimed at improving the efficiencies of the production plants, among other things to keep the plants running longer between maintenance intervals, and expanding the capacity at the gluten production site in Wanze, Belgium.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Geschäftsjahr 2016/17

Segment CropEnergies

Übersicht

In der CropEnergies-Gruppe sind die Bioethanolaktivitäten in Deutschland, Belgien, Frankreich und Großbritannien gebündelt. Das Unternehmen ist einer der führenden Hersteller von nachhaltig erzeugtem Bioethanol in Europa und verfügt über eine Gesamtkapazität von 1,3 Mio. m³ Bioethanol und über 1 Mio. t proteinreiche Lebens- und Futtermittel pro Jahr. Zudem ist CropEnergies zu 50 % an der CT Biocarbonic GmbH beteiligt, die in Zeitz eine Produktionsanlage zur Herstellung von flüssigem CO2 in Lebensmittelqualität mit einer Jahreskapazität von 100.000 t betreibt.
Im Geschäftsjahr 2016/17 konnte CropEnergies die Ertragslage erneut verbessern. Im Vergleich zum Vorjahr wurden die Produktions- und Absatzmengen deutlich gesteigert. Hierzu trug insbesondere die Wiederinbetriebnahme der Produktionsanlage in Wilton/Großbritannien im Juli 2016 bei. Auch die niedrigeren Rohstoffpreise wirkten sich positiv auf die Ertragslage aus. Im Gegensatz hierzu lagen die erzielten Absatzpreise, trotz einer erfreulichen Entwicklung der Ethanolpreise im letzten Quartal, überwiegend unter dem Vorjahresniveau.

Geschäftsentwicklung im Segment CropEnergies



2016/172015/16
UmsatzMio. EUR726658
EBITDAMio. EUR135122
Abschreibungen auf
Sachanlagen und immaterielle
Vermögenswerte
Mio. EUR-37-35
Operatives ErgebnisMio. EUR9887
Restrukturierung/SondereinflüsseMio. EUR-4-18
Ergebnis aus at Equity enbezogenen UnternehmenMio. EUR00
Ergebnis der BetriebstätigkeitMio. EUR9469
EBITDA-Marge%18,618,5
Operative Marge%13,413,2
Investitionen in SachanlagenMio. EUR1617
Investitionen in FinanzanlagenMio. EUR00
Investitionen gesamtMio. EUR1617
Capital EmployedMio. EUR479490
Return on Capital Employed%20,417,7
Mitarbeiter
412416

Umsatz und operatives Ergebnis

Im Segment CropEnergies erhöhte sich der Umsatz gegenüber dem Vorjahr auf 726 (658) Mio. €. Dies ist insbesondere auf höhere Erzeugungsmengen von Bioethanol wie auch von Lebens- und Futtermitteln infolge der Wiederinbetriebnahme der Anlage in Wilton zurückzuführen. Die aufgrund der höheren Eigenerzeugung reduzierten Handelswarenmengen sowie niedrigere Ethanolerlöse konnten mehr als kompensiert werden.
Das operative Ergebnis verbesserte sich trotz rückläufiger Ethanolerlöse gegenüber dem außerordentlich starken Vorjahr nochmals deutlich auf ein Rekordniveau von 98 (87) Mio. €. Ausschlaggebend waren sowohl die deutlich höheren Erzeugungs- und Absatzmengen als auch rückläufige Nettorohstoff- und Energiekosten.
Ergebnis aus Restrukturierung und Sondereinflüssen
Das Ergebnis aus Restrukturierung und Sondereinflüssen in Höhe von -4 (-18) Mio. € betraf zum einen Aufwendungen aus Branntweinsteuerrisiken in Deutschland im Zusammenhang mit Ethanolverkäufen. Zum anderen sind am Standort Wilton die bis zur Wiederinbetriebnahme im Juli 2016 angefallenen Fixkosten der Stillstandsphase der Bioethanolfabrik und der Ertrag aus der Auflösung des Restbetrags der bei Stilllegung gebildeten Rückstellung für die Erfüllung vertraglicher Verpflichtungen enthalten. Im Vorjahr waren die angefallenen Fixkosten für den Stillstand während des gesamten Geschäftsjahres enthalten.
Capital Employed und Return on Capital Employed (ROCE)
Das Capital Employed lag mit 479 (490) Mio. € leicht unter Vorjahr, wobei einem deutlich über dem Investitionsvolumen liegenden Abschreibungsniveau ein Anstieg des Working Capitals gegenüberstand. Durch die Verbesserung des operativen Ergebnisses auf 98 (87) Mio. € stieg der ROCE auf 20,4 (17,7) %.
Investitionen
Die Investitionen beliefen sich auf 16 (17) Mio. €. Neben Ersatzinvestitionen sind insbesondere Investitionen zur Effizienzsteigerung von Produktionsanlagen, unter anderem in Form von längeren Laufzeiten zwischen den Wartungsstillständen, und Kapazitätserweiterungen bei der Glutenproduktion in Wanze/Belgien zu nennen.