jump to content

jump to navigation

Fiscal year 2016/17

Special products segment

The special products segment is comprised of the BENEO (BENEO-Orafti/BENEO-Palatinit/BENEO-Remy), Freiberger , PortionPack Europe divisions, as well as AGRANA's starch and bioethanol businesses as well as the new wheat starch plant in Zeitz, Germany.

Key figures for the special products segment



2016/172015/16
RevenuesEUR million1,8191,791
EBITDAEUR million263246
Depreciation of fixed assets and intangible assetsEUR million-79-75
Operating resultEUR million184171
Restructuring/special itemsEUR million-4-2
Income from companies consolidated at equityEUR million2823
Result from operationsEUR million208192
EBITDA margin%14.413.7
Operating margin%10.19.5
Investments in fixed assetsEUR million126131
Investments in financial assets/acquisitionsEUR million00
Total investmentsEUR million126131
Capital employedEUR million1,4991,436
Return on capital employed%12.211.9
Employees
4,6434,422
Revenues and operating result
The special products segment's revenues rose slightly from € 1,791 to 1,819 million. The increase was driven by the startup of the wheat starch plant at the Zeitz site and especially steady volume growth. The higher revenues more than offset declining sales income, caused in part by currency exchange factors. The depreciation of the British pound following the BREXIT vote had a direct negative impact on a number of the segment’s companies.
The operating result came in at € 184 (171) million, higher still than last year's already excellent numbers. The continued volume growth in almost all business units was enough to offset the burden resulting from the startup of the starch plant in Zeitz and declining sales income.
Result of restructuring and special items
The result of restructuring and special items of € -4 (-2) million included expenses from the testing phase of the new wheat starch plant at the Zeitz location until July 2016. Last year, expenses related to the wheat starch plant testing that began in 2015/16 were offset in part by property tax reimbursements for previous years at BENEO.
Result from companies consolidated at equity
The result of € 28 (23) million from companies consolidated at equity is mainly attributable to the share of earnings from Hungrana Group's starch and bioethanol businesses.
Capital Employed and Return on Capital Employed (ROCE)
Capital employed rose significantly to € 1,499 (1,436) million due to higher investments. The higher operating result of € 184 (171) million caused ROCE to rise to 12.2 (11.9) %. The capital employed number also includes the investments for the wheat starch plant at the Zeitz location.
Investments
The special products segment invested € 126 (131) million. The BENEO division's investments were mainly for efficiency improvements in the production process at Orafti in Oreye, Belgium, and the agglomerations system at Palatinit in Offstein. The starch division's main investments were for the construction and startup of the wheat starch plant in Zeitz and a capacity expansion in Aschach, Austria. The Freiberger division focused its investments on improving efficiencies by installing new production systems at the Berlin and Westhoughton, Great Britain, sites.

BENEO

BENEO was able to successfully increase its market share in fiscal 2016/17, growing significantly in all its key markets. The division is focusing on the European market and the potential of the American and Asian markets. For example, it established a sales office in India in order to expand into this important economic region.

Freiberger

Freiberger Group was able to meet expectations for the fiscal year just ended, despite rising milk prices and the weakening of the British pound. By focusing consistently on product quality in Germany, Freiberger was able to counter the market trend and generate the same volume as last year. Volume rose in France and Great Britain. Freiberger will therefore stick to its quality and investment strategy and align its production capacities on the special requirements of the retail trade as well as taking into consideration consumer behavioral trends in determining its product types and production concepts.

PortionPack Europe

PortionPack Europe operated in a continued difficult market environment in fiscal 2016/17. A restructuring initiative in Belgium at the beginning of the fiscal year led to the sale of the production side of the business, and retention of the business with food service customers as a pure trading business. Because of sharply lower sales revenues - expressed in euro - in England, and reduced business volume in Belgium, PortionPack Europe Group's revenues were below last year’s.

Starch

The starch division's revenues rose 1.7 % in fiscal 2016/17. The sales volume of products manufactured in-house rose because of the significantly improved productivity at all factories. Market prices for the significantly higher volumes remained stable, especially for native starches. Ethanol prices were very volatile during the fiscal year and average prices for bioethanol were below last year's. However, because of higher sales volumes, revenues remained almost constant. Volume and prices for the modified starches product group remained stable. The specialty product strategy focus resulted in significantly higher revenues for high-margin organic products, both because of higher volumes and higher selling prices. Sugar price trends in Europe had a positive impact on selling prices for sweeteners and as a result, revenues, driven in part by higher volumes, were above last year's.
After one-and-a-half years of construction, testing at the Zeitz starch plant began in March 2016. The plant started operations in July 2016. It will convert wheat from the surrounding area to glucose syrups for the food and chemical industries and has generated jobs for about 100 new employees. Bran for the animal feed industry and the plant protein gluten will be refined in addition to the primary product, glucose syrup. Gluten is a key raw material also used for the baked goods industry and fish farming. A large volume of bran from the newly started up wheat starch plant in Zeitz was sold for the first time in Germany and abroad. Contract terms and conditions were excellent.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Geschäftsjahr 2016/17

Segment Spezialitäten

Das Segment Spezialitäten umfasst die Aktivitäten in den Divisionen BENEO (BENEO-Orafti/BENEO-Palatinit/BENEO-Remy), Freiberger, PortionPack Europe die Stärke- und Bioethanolaktivitäten der AGRANA sowie die neue Weizenstärkeanlage in Zeitz.

Geschäftsentwicklung im Segment Spezialitäten



2016/172015/16
UmsatzerlöseMio. EUR1.8191.791
EBITDAMio. EUR263246
Abschreibungen auf Sachanlagen und immaterielle VermögenswerteMio. EUR-79-75
Operatives ErgebnisMio. EUR184171
Ergebnis aus Restrukturierung/SondereinflüssenMio. EUR-4-2
Ergebnis aus at equity einbezogenen UnternehmenMio. EUR2823
Ergebnis der BetriebstätigkeitMio. EUR208192
EBITDA-Marge%14,413,7
Operative Marge%10,19,5
Investitionen in SachanlagenMio. EUR126131
Investitionen in Finanzanlagen/AkquisitionenMio. EUR00
Investitionen gesamtMio. EUR126131
Capital employedMio. EUR1.4991.436
Return on Capital employed%12,211,9
Mitarbeiter
4.6344.422

Umsatz und operatives Ergebnis

Der Umsatz im Segment Spezialitäten erhöhte sich leicht von 1.791 auf 1.819 Mio. €. Neben der Inbetriebnahme der Weizenstärkeanlage am Standort Zeitz trug hierzu insbesondere der anhaltende Absatzzuwachs bei. Hierdurch konnten die – teils auch durch Wechselkurseffekte – rückläufigen Erlöse mehr als ausgeglichen werden. Insbesondere der Verfall des britischen Pfunds aufgrund des Brexit-Beschlusses hatte negative Auswirkungen auf einzelne Gesellschaften des Segments. Das operative Ergebnis konnte mit 184 (171) Mio. € gegenüber dem außergewöhnlich guten Vorjahresniveau nochmals gesteigert werden. Der weitere Absatzzuwachs in nahezu sämtlichen Geschäftsfeldern war dabei höher als die belastenden Effekte aus dem Anlauf der Stärkefabrik in Zeitz und die rückläufigen Erlöse.
Ergebnis aus Restrukturierung und Sondereinflüssen
Das Ergebnis aus Restrukturierung und Sondereinflüssen in Höhe von -4 (-2) Mio. € enthielt Aufwendungen aus der Testphase der neuen Weizenstärkeanlage am Standort Zeitz bis Juli 2016. Im Vorjahr standen Aufwendungen aus der in 2015/16 begonnenen Testphase der Weizenstärkeanlage Erträge unter anderem aus Vermögenssteuererstattungen für Vorjahre bei BENEO gegenüber.
Ergebnis aus at Equity einbezogenen Unternehmen
Das Ergebnis aus at Equity einbezogenen Unternehmen in Höhe 28 (23) Mio. € betrifft im Wesentlichen das anteilige Ergebnis der Stärke- und Bioethanolaktivitäten der Hungrana-Gruppe.
Capital Employed und Return on Capital Employed (ROCE)
Das Capital Employed erhöhte sich maßgeblich investitionsbedingt auf 1.499 (1.436) Mio. €. Durch die Steigerung des operativen Ergebnisses auf 184 (171) Mio. € verbesserte sich der ROCE auf 12,2 (11,9) %. Das Capital Employed umfasst auch die Investitionen in die Weizenstärkeanlage am Standort Zeitz.
Investitionen
Die Investitionen im Segment Spezialitäten von 126 (131) Mio. € betrafen in der Division BENEO maßgeblich Effizienzsteigerungen im Produktionsprozess bei Orafti in Oreye/Belgien und in der Agglomerations-Anlage bei Palatinit in Offstein. In der Division Stärke entfiel die maßgebliche Investition auf die Errichtung und Inbetriebnahme der Weizenstärkeanlage in Zeitz und die Kapazitätserhöhung in Aschach/Österreich. Bei der Division Freiberger wurde vorrangig in Effizienzverbesserungen durch neue Produktionsanlagen an den Standorten Berlin und Westhoughton/Großbritannien investiert.

BENEO

BENEO konnte im Geschäftsjahr 2016/17 ihre Marktposition erfolgreich behaupten und ein deutliches Wachstum auf allen Kernmärkten erreichen. Neben dem europäischen Markt liegt der Fokus auf dem Potenzial der amerikanischen und asiatischen Märkte. So wurde beispielsweise ein Verkaufsbüro in Indien für die Expansion in diesen bedeutenden Wirtschaftsraum eröffnet.

Freiberger

Im zurückliegenden Geschäftsjahr gelang es der Freiberger-Gruppe, die Erwartungen trotz steigender Milchpreise und der Entwicklung des britischen Pfunds zu erfüllen. Entgegen dem Markttrend konnte Freiberger durch die konsequente Ausrichtung auf Produktqualität in Deutschland die gleiche Menge wie im Vorjahr absetzen. In Frankreich und in Großbritannien stieg der Absatz. Vor diesem Hintergrund wird Freiberger weiter seine Qualitäts- und Investitionsstrategie fortsetzen und die Produktionskapazitäten auf die speziellen Anforderungen des Einzelhandels in den Märkten ausrichten sowie Trends im Verbraucherverhalten in seinen Sortimenten und Produktionskonzepten einbeziehen.

PortionPack Europe

Im Geschäftsjahr 2016/17 bewegte sich PortionPack Europe in einem anhaltend schwierigen Marktumfeld. In Belgien wurden im Rahmen einer Umstrukturierung zu Beginn des Geschäftsjahres die Produktionsaktivitäten veräußert und das Geschäft mit den Foodservice-Kunden als reine Handelsaktivität fortgesetzt. Aufgrund der in Euro umgerechnet deutlich niedrigeren Umsätze in England und des geringeren Ge-schäftsvolumens in Belgien lag der Umsatz der PortionPack Europe-Gruppe unter dem Vorjahr.

Stärke

In der Division Stärke stieg der Umsatz um 1,7 %. Die Absatzmenge von eigengefertigten Produkten stieg aufgrund einer deutlich höheren Produktivität in allen Werken. Insbesondere bei nativen Stärken konnten die deutlichen Mehrmengen zu stabilen Preisen im Markt platziert werden. Die Ethanolnotierungen waren im Geschäftsjahr sehr volatil, die Durchschnittspreise für Bioethanol lagen unter dem Vorjahr. Durch gestiegene Verkaufsmengen konnte der Umsatz aber beinahe konstant gehalten werden. Die Produktgruppe der modifizierten Stärken entwickelte sich mengen- und preismäßig stabil. Die Verfolgung der Spezialitätenstrategie brachte im Berichtsjahr auch deutliche Umsatzsteigerungen bei margenstarken Bio-Produkten, sowohl durch Mengensteigerungen als auch aufgrund gefestigter Verkaufspreise. Die Entwicklung der Zuckerpreise in Europa hat einen positiven Einfluss auf die Verkaufspreise für Verzuckerungsprodukte, sodass die Umsätze, auch durch Mehrabsatz, über dem Vorjahr lagen.
Nach anderthalb Jahren Bauzeit wurde in der Stärkefabrik am Standort Zeitz im März 2016 mit dem Probebetrieb begonnen und anschließend die Anlage im Juli 2016 in Betrieb genommen. Mit rund 100 neuen Mitarbeitern wird in der Anlage Weizen aus der umliegenden Region zu Glukosesirupen für die Lebensmittel- und chemische Industrie verarbeitet. Neben dem Hauptprodukt Glukosesirup werden Kleie für die Futtermittelindustrie und das Pflanzenprotein Gluten gewonnen. Gluten ist ein wichtiger Rohstoff für beispielsweise die Backindustrie oder auch für die Fischzucht. Erstmals wurden größere Mengen Kleie aus der neu in Betrieb genommenen Weizenstärkeanlage in Zeitz zu guten Konditionen im In- und Ausland verkauft.