jump to content

jump to navigation

Fiscal year 2017/18

Business performance

Key figures (PDF, 30.26 KB)
Revenues and operating result
The group's consolidated revenues rose 8 % to € 6,983 (6,476) million in fiscal 2017/18. The sugar, special products and CropEnergies segments all contributed to the increase, while the fruit segment's revenues were about the same as last year.
The group consolidated operating result rose slightly to € 445 (426) million. The fruit segment, and especially the sugar segment, contributed to this performance, while the CropEnergies and special products segments’ operating result was below last year's high level, as forecast. A trend reversal that reflects the decline in the sugar and CropEnergies results in the second half of the fiscal year is apparent when the two halves of the fiscal year are viewed in isolation: In the first half-year, the group’s consolidated operating result was still significantly higher than the year prior, while in the second half of the fiscal year it was down sharply from a year earlier.
Capital employed and return on capital employed (ROCE)
Capital employed rose to € 6,650 (6,012) million. The substantial increase is the result of acquisitions within the special products segment and higher working capital in the sugar segment. Despite the improved operating result of € 445 (426) million, ROCE fell to 6.7 (7.1) %.
PDF-documents can be viewed with Acrobat Reader, which is available for free from Adobe.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Geschäftsjahr 2017/18

Geschäftsentwicklung

Konzernzahlen (PDF, 30,93 KB)
Umsatz und operatives Ergebnis
Der Konzernumsatz stieg im Geschäftsjahr 2017/18 um 8 % auf 6.983 (6.476) Mio. €. Dazu beigetragen haben die Segmente Zucker, Spezialitäten und CropEnergies, der Umsatz im Segment Frucht lag auf Vorjahresniveau.
Das operative Konzernergebnis erhöhte sich leicht auf 445 (426) Mio. €. Insbesondere das Segment Zucker, aber auch das Segment Frucht haben hierzu beigetragen, während das operative Ergebnis in den Segmenten CropEnergies und Spezialitäten erwartungsgemäß unter dem hohen Vorjahresniveau lag. Bei einer isolierten Betrachtung der Halbjahre zeigt sich eine Trendwende, die den Rückgang der Ergebnisse in den Segmenten Zucker und CropEnergies im 2. Halbjahr widerspiegelt: Im 1. Halbjahr lag das operative Konzernergebnis noch deutlich über dem Vorjahr, in der 2. Geschäftsjahreshälfte ging es gegenüber dem Vorjahr deutlich zurück.
Capital Employed und Return on Capital Employed (ROCE)
Das Capital Employed stieg auf 6.650 (6.012) Mio. €. Der deutliche Anstieg resultiert im Wesentlichen aus den Akquisitionen im Segment Spezialitäten und einer Erhöhung des Working Capitals im Segment Zucker. Trotz eines verbesserten operativen Ergebnisses von 445 (426) Mio. € ging der ROCE auf 6,7 (7,1) % zurück.