jump to content

jump to navigation

Fiscal year 2017/18

CropEnergies segment

Overview

CropEnergies Group is responsible for the bioethanol business in Germany, Belgium, France and Great Britain. The company is a leading producer of sustainably produced bioethanol in Europe and has a total annual production capacity of 1.3 million m³ of bioethanol and over one million tonnes of high-protein food and animal feed. CropEnergies also holds a 50 % interest in CT Biocarbonic GmbH, which operates a food-grade CO2 liquification plant in Zeitz with an annual production capacity of 100,000 tonnes.
In fiscal 2017/18, CropEnergies was able to further expand its position as the leading producer of sustainably produced ethanol in Europe, despite a market environment marked by volatile ethanol prices. CropEnergies was again able to improve production and sales volumes significantly in comparison to the year prior. The restart of the production plant in Wilton/Great Britain in July 2016 was a major contributing factor. In addition, the segment was able to operate all of its plants at high loads, except for maintenance works.

Key figures for the CropEnergies segment



2017/182016/17
RevenuesEUR million808726
EBITDAEUR million111135
Depreciation of fixed assets and intangible assetsEUR million-39-37
Operating resultEUR million7298
Restructuring/special itemsEUR million-1-4
Income from companies consolidated at equityEUR million00
Result from operationsEUR million7194
EBITDA margin%13.718.6
Operating margin%8.913.4
Investments in fixed assetsEUR million2017
Investments in financial assets/acquisitionsEUR million00
Total investmentsEUR million2016
Capital employedEUR million452479
Return on capital employed%15.920.4
Employees
414412
Revenues and operating result
Despite a decline in the fourth quarter due to significantly lower ethanol sales revenues than during the same period last year, CropEnergies was able to boost revenues to € 808 (726) million in fiscal 2017/18 just ended, driven especially by significantly higher production and sales volumes during the first half year due to the restart of the production plant in Wilton in the second quarter of 2016/17.
The severe decline in ethanol prices drove CropEnergies’ fourth quarter operating result sharply lower than the unusually high number posted the year prior, which led to a significantly lower result of € 72 (98) million for the full fiscal 2017/18 period. The improved results from higher volumes and revenues were not enough to offset higher net raw material costs and the now full-year operating costs of the plant in Wilton, together with maintenance work and inspections at all production plants.
Capital employed and return on capital employed (ROCE)
Capital employed came in at € 452 (479) million, lower than last year because investments were lower than write-downs. ROCE fell to 15.9 (20.4) %, driven by the lower operating result of € 72 (98) million.
Investments
Investments totaling € 20 (16) million were for technical systems replacements such as the rectification column in Wanze, Belgium, but especially to improve production plant efficiencies, among other things by preparing for raw material flexibility in Zeitz, Germany, expanding gluten production in Wanze, Belgium and other projects at the Wilton site.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Geschäftsjahr 2017/18

Segment CropEnergies

Übersicht

In der CropEnergies-Gruppe sind die Bioethanolaktivitäten in Deutschland, Belgien, Frankreich und Großbritannien gebündelt. Das Unternehmen ist einer der führenden Hersteller von nachhaltig erzeugtem Bioethanol in Europa und verfügt über eine Gesamtkapazität von 1,3 Mio. m³ Bioethanol und über 1 Mio. t proteinreiche Lebens- und Futtermittel pro Jahr. Zudem ist CropEnergies zu 50 % an der CT Biocarbonic GmbH beteiligt, die in Zeitz eine Produktionsanlage zur Herstellung von flüssigem CO2 in Lebensmittelqualität mit einer Jahreskapazität von 100.000 t betreibt.
Im Geschäftsjahr 2017/18 ist es CropEnergies in einem von volatilen Ethanolpreisen geprägten Marktumfeld gelungen, die Position als führender Hersteller von nachhaltig erzeugtem Ethanol in Europa weiter auszubauen. Im Vergleich zum Vorjahr hat CropEnergies die Produktions- und Absatzmengen nochmals deutlich gesteigert. Hierzu trug insbesondere die Wiederinbetriebnahme der Produktionsanlage in Wilton/Großbritannien im Juli 2016 bei. Darüber hinaus wurden die Anlagen an allen Standorten, abgesehen von den durchgeführten Instandhaltungsphasen, mit hoher Auslastung betrieben.

Geschäftsentwicklung im Segment CropEnergies



2017/182016/17
UmsatzMio. EUR808726
EBITDAMio. EUR111135
Abschreibungen auf
Sachanlagen und immaterielle
Vermögenswerte
Mio. EUR-39-37
Operatives ErgebnisMio. EUR7298
Restrukturierung/SondereinflüsseMio. EUR-1-4
Ergebnis aus at Equity enbezogenen UnternehmenMio. EUR00
Ergebnis der BetriebstätigkeitMio. EUR7194
EBITDA-Marge%13,718,6
Operative Marge%8,913,4
Investitionen in SachanlagenMio. EUR2016
Investitionen in FinanzanlagenMio. EUR00
Investitionen gesamtMio. EUR2016
Capital EmployedMio. EUR452479
Return on Capital Employed%15,920,4
Mitarbeiter
414412
Umsatz und operatives Ergebnis
Trotz eines Rückgangs im 4. Quartal infolge der gegenüber dem Vorjahreszeitraum deutlich rückläufigen Ethanolerlöse konnte CropEnergies im abgelaufenen Geschäftsjahr 2017/18 den Umsatz auf 808 (726) Mio. € steigern. Dies ist insbesondere auf den deutlichen Anstieg der Produktions- und Absatzmengen im 1. Halbjahr durch die Wiederinbetriebnahme der Produktionsanlage in Wilton im Verlauf des 2. Quartals 2016/17 zurückzuführen.
Im 4. Quartal lag das operative Ergebnis im Segment CropEnergies bedingt durch den drastischen Rückgang der Ethanolerlöse deutlich unter dem außergewöhnlich hohen Vorjahresniveau. Dies führte auch im Gesamtjahreszeitraum 2017/18 zu einem deutlichen Ergebnisrückgang auf 72 (98) Mio. €. Dabei konnten die gestiegenen Nettorohstoffkosten sowie die nun ganzjährig wirkenden operativen Kosten der Anlage in Wilton sowie Revisions- und Instandhaltungsarbeiten an allen Standorten nicht durch die Ergebnisverbesserungen aus Absatz- und Umsatzsteigerungen kompensiert werden.
Capital Employed und Return on Capital Employed (ROCE)
Das Capital Employed lag aufgrund eines Investitionsvolumens unter Abschreibungsniveau mit 452 (479) Mio. € unter Vorjahr. Durch das rückläufige operative Ergebnis von 72 (98) Mio. € sank der ROCE auf 15,9 (20,4) %.
Investitionen
Die Investitionen beliefen sich auf 20 (16) Mio. € und dienen neben dem Ersatz technischer Anlagen wie der Rektifikationskolonne in Wanze/Belgien insbesondere der Effizienzsteigerung von Produktionsanlagen, u. a. durch Vorbereitungsmaßnahmen zum flexiblen Rohstoffeinsatz in Zeitz, durch die Erweiterung der Glutenproduktion in Wanze/Belgien sowie weitere Projekte am Standort Wilton.