jump to content

jump to navigation

Fiscal year 2017/18

Special products segment

The special products segment is comprised of the BENEO (BENEO-Orafti/BENEO-Palatinit/BENEO-Remy), Freiberger , PortionPack Europe divisions, as well as AGRANA's starch and bioethanol businesses as well as the wheat starch plant in Zeitz, Germany.

Key figures for the special products segment



2017/182016/17
RevenuesEUR million1,9771,819
EBITDAEUR million255263
Depreciation of fixed assets and intangible assetsEUR million-97-79
Operating resultEUR million158184
Restructuring/special itemsEUR million-3-4
Income from companies consolidated at equityEUR million3028
Result from operationsEUR million185208
EBITDA margin%12.814.4
Operating margin%7.910.1
Investments in fixed assetsEUR million121126
Investments in financial assets/acquisitionsEUR million4300
Total investmentsEUR million551126
Capital employedEUR million2,0551,499
Return on capital employed%7,712.2
Employees
5,6974,643
Revenues and operating result
The special products segment was able to increase year-over-year revenues to € 1,997 (1,819) million. In addition to steady volume growth in almost all product categories, contributions from frozen pizza producer Richelieu Foods Inc., Braintree, Massachusetts, acquired 1 December 2017, and HASA GmbH, Burg, Germany, purchased in July 2017, were included for the first time.
The operating result decline continued in the fourth quarter. At the end of fiscal 2017/18, it was posted at € 158 (184) million, down from last year's unusually strong result. The result improvement from volume and revenue gains was more than consumed by significantly higher write-downs and especially higher raw material prices than a year earlier.
Result from companies consolidated at equity
The result of € 30 (28) million from companies consolidated at equity is mainly attributable to the share of earnings from Hungrana Group’s starch and bioethanol businesses.
Capital employed and return on capital employed (ROCE)
Capital employed increased primarily as a result of the acquisition of frozen pizza producers Richelieu Foods Inc. and HASA GmbH, together with investments, particularly in the starch area, to € 2,055 (1,499) million. The lower operating result of € 158 (184) million caused ROCE to decline to 7.7 (12.2) %.
Investments in fixed assets
The special products segment invested € 121 (126) million. The BENEO division’s investments were mainly for efficiency improvements in the production process at Orafti in Oreye, Belgium, and the expansion of the agglomerations system at Palatinit in Offstein, Germany. The starch division’s main investments were for a capacity expansion in Aschach, Austria. The Freiberger division focused its investments on improving efficiencies by installing new production systems at the Westhoughton, Great Britain, location.
Investments in financial assets
Investments in financial assets totaling € 430 (0) million comprise € 384 million for the 100 % acquisition of American pizza producer Richelieu Foods Inc., and € 46 million for the 100 % purchase of frozen pizza producer HASA GmbH.

BENEO

The BENEO division owns five production plants that convert chicory, beet sugar and rice to isomalt, Palatinose, inulin, oligofructose and rice starch for food and animal feed. Production volumes and storage capacities were systematically adjusted to match the market and sales growth. The division was also able to successfully complete various process optimization projects in fiscal 2017/18.

Freiberger

Freiberger's production volume rose, due especially to the acquisition of HASA GmbH and Richelieu Foods Inc., the largest frozen and deli pizza producer in the American private label segment. The company produces frozen and chilled pizzas, from classic stone oven varieties to pizza from fresh dough to Alsace pizza, as well as various frozen pasta dishes, snacks, baguettes and sauces, at eleven plants in Germany, Great Britain, Austria and the United States.

PortionPack Europe

We serve the portion pack market segment from five European locations under the brand names Hellma, Van Oordt, Elite, SAES and Single Source, as well as in line with specific customer demands. The portfolio comprises primarily production of single packages for sugar, sweeteners, honey, herbs, marmalades, cookies, sauces, coffee whitener, instant beverages and some non-food articles.

Starch

We were also able to boost production of starch and bioethanol at all of our sites. This is mostly due to the expansion of the cornstarch capacity at the Aschach site in Austria and the wheat starch plant in Zeitz, which operated year round for the first time. The volume of potato starch processed at the factory in Gmünd, Austria, was also significantly higher, with the campaign extending to 164 (149) days. Production at the Pischelsdorf location in Austria was up only slightly.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Geschäftsjahr 2017/18

Segment Spezialitäten

Das Segment Spezialitäten umfasst die Aktivitäten in den Divisionen BENEO (BENEO-Orafti/BENEO-Palatinit/BENEO-Remy), Freiberger, PortionPack Europe die Stärke- und Bioethanolaktivitäten der AGRANA sowie die Weizenstärkeanlage in Zeitz.

Geschäftsentwicklung im Segment Spezialitäten



2017/182016/17
UmsatzerlöseMio. EUR1.9771.819
EBITDAMio. EUR255263
Abschreibungen auf Sachanlagen und immaterielle VermögenswerteMio. EUR-97-79
Operatives ErgebnisMio. EUR158184
Ergebnis aus Restrukturierung/SondereinflüssenMio. EUR-3-4
Ergebnis aus at equity einbezogenen UnternehmenMio. EUR3028
Ergebnis der BetriebstätigkeitMio. EUR185208
EBITDA-Marge%12,814,4
Operative Marge%7,910,9
Investitionen in SachanlagenMio. EUR121126
Investitionen in Finanzanlagen/AkquisitionenMio. EUR4300
Investitionen gesamtMio. EUR551126
Capital employedMio. EUR2.0551.499
Return on Capital employed%7,712,2
Mitarbeiter
5.6974.634
Umsatz und operatives Ergebnis
Im Segment Spezialitäten konnte der Umsatz gegenüber Vorjahr auf 1.997 (1.819) Mio. € gesteigert werden. Neben der anhaltend positiven Absatzentwicklung in nahezu sämtlichen Produktkategorien trugen hierzu auch erstmals der zum 1. Dezember 2017 erworbene Tiefkühl-Pizzaproduzent Richelieu Foods Inc., Braintree/Massachusetts/USA, sowie die im Juli 2017 erworbene HASA GmbH, Burg, bei.
Beim operativen Ergebnis setzte sich der Rückgang auch im 4. Quartal fort, sodass für das Geschäftsjahr 2017/18 gegenüber dem außergewöhnlich starken Vorjahr ein Rückgang auf 158 (184) Mio. € zu verzeichnen ist. Dabei wurde die Ergebnisverbesserung aus Absatz- und Umsatzgewinnen durch deutlich gestiegene Abschreibungen sowie insbesondere die gegenüber Vorjahr höheren Rohstoffpreise mehr als aufgezehrt.
Ergebnis aus at Equity einbezogenen Unternehmen
Das Ergebnis aus at Equity einbezogenen Unternehmen in Höhe von 30 (28) Mio. € betrifft im Wesentlichen das anteilige Ergebnis der Stärke- und Bioethanolaktivitäten der Hungrana-Gruppe.
Capital Employed und Return on Capital Employed (ROCE)
Das Capital Employed erhöhte sich maßgeblich durch die Akquisition der Tiefkühlpizzahersteller Richelieu Foods Inc. und HASA GmbH sowie die Investitionen insbesondere im Bereich Stärke auf 2.055 (1.499) Mio. €. Bei einem Rückgang des operativen Ergebnisses auf 158 (184) Mio. € sank der ROCE auf 7,7 (12,2) %.
Investitionen in Sachanlagen
Die Investitionen im Segment Spezialitäten von 121 (126) Mio. € betrafen in der Division BENEO maßgeblich Effizienzsteigerungen wie z. B. im Produktionsprozess bei Orafti in Oreye/Belgien und in der Erweiterung der Agglomerations-Anlage bei Palatinit in Offstein. In der Division Stärke entfiel der maßgebliche Investitionsumfang auf die Kapazitätserhöhung in Aschach/Österreich. Bei der Division Freiberger sind vorrangig die Effizienzverbesserungen durch neue Produktionsanlagen am Standort Westhoughton/Großbritannien zu erwähnen.
Investitionen in Finanzanlagen
Die Investitionen in Finanzanlagen in Höhe von 430 (0) Mio. € betrafen mit 384 Mio. € den 100%igen Erwerb des US-amerikanischen Pizzaherstellers Richelieu Foods Inc. und mit 46 Mio. € den 100%igen Erwerb des Tiefkühlpizzaherstellers HASA GmbH.

BENEO

In der Division BENEO werden an fünf Produktionsstandorten Zichorien, Rübenzucker und Reis zu Isomalt, Palatinose, Inulin, Oligofruktose sowie Reisstärke für Lebensmittel und Tiernahrung verarbeitet. Entsprechend der positiven Markt- und Absatzentwicklung wurden die Erzeugungsmengen konsequent ausgeweitet und die Lagerkapazitäten angepasst. Zudem konnten im Geschäftsjahr 2017/18 unterschiedliche Maßnahmen zur Optimierung der Prozesse erfolgreich umgesetzt werden.

Freiberger

Die Erzeugungsmengen bei Freiberger erhöhten sich insbesondere durch die Akquisitionen der HASA GmbH und der Richelieu Foods Inc., dem größten Tiefkühl- und Feinkostpizzahersteller im Eigenmarkensegment der USA, deutlich. An elf Standorten in Deutschland, Großbritannien, Österreich und USA werden tiefgekühlte und gekühlte Pizza, von der klassischen Steinofenpizza über Frischteigpizza bis hin zum Flammkuchen, sowie verschiedenste tiefgekühlte Pastagerichte, Snacks, Baguettes und Saucen hergestellt.

PortionPack Europe

Das Marktsegment Portionsartikel bedienen wir aus fünf europäischen Standorten unter den Marken Hellma, Van Oordt, Elite, SAES und Single Source sowie nach spezifischen Kundenanforderungen. Das Produktionsportfolio umfasst im Wesentlichen die Herstellung von Einzelpackungen für Zucker, Süßstoffe, Honig, Gewürze, Marmeladen, Kleingebäck, Saucen, Kaffeeweißer, Instant-Getränke und einige Non-Food-Artikel.

Stärke

Auch im Bereich Stärke- und Bioethanolerzeugung konnten wir die Erzeugungsmengen an sämtlichen Standorten erhöhen. Dies ist insbesondere auf den Ausbau der Maisstärkekapazitäten am Standort Aschach/Österreich sowie dem erstmals ganzjährigen Betrieb der Weizenstärkeanlage in Zeitz zurückzuführen. Ebenso konnte die Verarbeitungsmenge in der Kartoffelstärkefabrik am Standort Gmünd/Österreich deutlich erhöht und damit die Kampagne auf 164 (149) Tage verlängert werden. Am Standort Pischelsdorf/Österreich war lediglich ein leichter Zuwachs der Verarbeitungsleistung zu verzeichnen.