jump to content

jump to navigation

Fiscal year 2017/18

Sugar segment

Performance of the sugar segment

The sugar segment's numbers relate to Südzucker AG, Südzucker Polska, Südzucker Moldova, Raffinerie Tirlemontoise, Saint Louis Sucre and AGRANA. These companies produced 5.9 (4.7) million tonnes of sugar in 29 sugar factories and two refineries. The plants are located in Germany, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, France, Moldova, Poland, Austria, Romania, Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Hungary. The agriculture, animal feed and Bodengesundheitsdienst divisions are some of the other business units attached to the segment.

Key figures for the sugar segment



2017/182016/17
RevenuesEUR million3,0172,776
EBITDAEUR million278201
Depreciation of fixed assets and intangible assetsEUR million-139-129
Operating profitEUR million13972
Restructuring/special itemsEUR million24-12
Income from companies consolidated at equityEUR million-287
Income from operationsEUR million13567
EBITDA margin%9.27.3
Operating margin%4.62.6
Investments in fixed assetsEUR million171153
Investments in financial assets/acquisitionsEUR million2118
Total investmentsEUR million173271
Capital employedEUR million3,2993,169
Return on capital employed%4.22.3
Employees
7,0346,929
Revenues and operating result
Driven by higher sugar volumes – especially for export – the sugar segment’s revenues rose to € 3,017 (2,776) million. In the first half of the year, sugar sales revenues were higher than last year, but due to the strong decline in the second half, average sales revenues was lower than the year prior.
Despite significantly lower sales revenues since October 2017, the operating result increased to € 139 (72) million, driven by the increase in sugar sales revenues in the first half year right up to September 2017 for both quota and non-quota sugar. To date during the new sugar marketing year, which began in October 2017, sales revenues for both EU and export volumes have declined steadily, which has weighed more and more on the result trend despite lower production costs.
Result of restructuring and extraordinary items
The result from restructuring and extraordinary items of € 24 (-12) million includes mainly income from the excess production levies in sugar marketing years 1999/2000 and 2000/2001. It also includes income from property disposals and insurance reimbursements related to a fire at the Ochsenfurt sugar factory in summer 2017. The income was offset by expenses for restructuring and reorganization programs.
Result from companies consolidated at equity
The sugar segment’s result for companies consolidated at equity was € -28 (7) million and relates to ED&F Man Holdings Limited, London, Great Britain, AGRANA-Studen Group and Maxi S.r.l. The result reflects the difficult sugar and grain environment for the ED&F Man Group.
Capital employed and return on capital employed
Capital employed rose to € 3,299 (3,169) million, driven especially by increased working capital due to higher trade receivables. The significantly improved operating profit of € 139 (72) million drove ROCE to 4.2 (2.3) percent in fiscal 2017/18.
Investments in fixed assets
Investments of € 171 (153) million went primarily toward replacements, efficiency improvements in Offstein, Roye, France and Leopoldsdorf, Austria, product developments at the site in Tienen, Belgium, energy savings in Zeitz and Cerekiew, Poland and investments in environmental protection programs at the German Ochsenfurt, Offstein and Plattling locations. Also noteworthy are logistics and infrastructure projects such as the ones at the Offenau, Offstein and Rain factories, as well as in Cagny, France.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Geschäftsjahr 2017/18

Segment Zucker

Übersicht

Die Zahlen für das Segment Zucker beziehen sich auf die Zuckeraktivitäten von Südzucker AG, Südzucker Polska, Südzucker Moldova, Raffinerie Tirlemontoise, Saint Louis Sucre und AGRANA. Diese Gesellschaften erzeugten in 29 Zuckerfabriken und zwei Raffinerien 5,9 (4,7) Mio. t Zucker in Deutschland, Belgien, Bosnien-Herzegovina, Frankreich, Moldau, Polen, Österreich, Rumänien, der Slowakei, Tschechien und Ungarn. Darüber hinaus sind dem Segment unter anderem die Bereiche Landwirtschaft, Futtermittel und der Bodengesundheitsdienst zugeordnet.

Geschäftsentwicklung im Segment Zucker



2017/182016/17
UmsatzMio. EUR3.0172.776
EBITDAMio. EUR278201
Abschreibungen auf Sachanlagen und immaterielle VermögenswerteMio. EUR-139-129
Operatives ErgebnisMio. EUR13972
Ergebnis aus Restrukturierung/SondereinflüssenMio. EUR24-12
Ergebnis aus at Equity einbezogenen Unternehmen
-287
Ergebnis der BetriebstätigkeitMio. EUR13567
EBITDA-Marge%9,27,3
Operative Marge%4,62,6
Investitionen in SachanlagenMio. EUR171153
Investitionen in FinanzanlagenMio. EUR2118
Investitionen gesamtMio. EUR173271
Capital EmployedMio. EUR3.2993.169
Return on Capital Employed%4,22,3
Mitarbeiter
7.0346.929
Umsatz und operatives Ergebnis
Der Umsatz im Segment Zucker ist aufgrund der höheren Zuckerabsatzmenge – insbesondere im Export – auf 3.017 (2.776) Mio. € angestiegen. Dabei lagen die Zuckererlöse in der ersten Geschäftsjahreshälfte noch über dem Vorjahresniveau. Durch den starken Rückgang in der zweiten Geschäftsjahreshälfte sanken die Erlöse im Geschäftsjahresdurchschnitt unter Vorjahresniveau.
Trotz der seit Oktober 2017 deutlich rückläufigen Erlöse erhöhte sich das operative Ergebnis auf 139 (72) Mio. €, da im 1. Halbjahr noch der bis einschließlich September 2017 zu verzeichnende Anstieg der Zuckererlöse – sowohl für Quotenzucker als auch für Nichtquotenzucker – wirkte. Im bisherigen Verlauf des im Oktober 2017 begonnenen neuen Zuckerwirtschaftsjahres waren die Erlöse sowohl für Absätze in der EU als auch für Exporte kontinuierlich rückläufig, was die Ergebnisentwicklung trotz niedrigerer Herstellkosten seither immer stärker belastete.
Ergebnis aus Restrukturierung und Sondereinflüssen
Das Ergebnis aus Restrukturierung und Sondereinflüssen in Höhe von 24 ( -12) Mio. € enthält im Wesentlichen Erträge aus zu viel erhobenen Produktionsabgaben für die Zuckerwirtschaftsjahre 1999/2000 und 2000/01. Daneben sind Erträge aus Grundstücksveräußerungen sowie aus Versicherungserstattungsansprüchen im Zusammenhang mit dem Brand in der Zuckerfabrik Ochsenfurt im Sommer 2017 enthalten. Dem standen Aufwendungen aus Restrukturierungs- und Reorganisationsmaßnahmen gegenüber.
Ergebnis aus at Equity einbezogenen Unternehmen
Das Ergebnis aus at Equity einbezogenen Unternehmen belief sich im Segment Zucker auf -28 (7) Mio. € und betrifft - neben der AGRANA-Studen-Gruppe und Maxi S.r.l. - ED&F MAN Holdings Limited, London/Großbritannien. Die Entwicklung reflektiert das schwierige Umfeld der ED&F-MAN-Gruppe in den Bereichen Zucker und Getreide.
Capital Employed und Return on Capital Employed
Das Capital Employed stieg, insbesondere durch ein höheres Working Capital infolge gestiegener Forderungen aus Lieferungen und Leistungen, auf 3.299 (3.169) Mio. €. Aufgrund des deutlich verbesserten operativen Ergebnisses von 139 (72) Mio. € stieg der ROCE im Geschäftsjahr 2017/18 auf 4,2 (2,3) %.
Investitionen in Sachanlagen
Die Investitionen in Höhe von 171 (153) Mio. € entfielen überwiegend auf Ersatzinvestitionen, Investitionen in Effizienzverbesserungen in Offstein, Roye/Frankreich und Leopoldsdorf/Österreich, Produktentwicklungen am Standort Tienen/Belgien, Energieeinsparungen in Zeitz und Cerekiew/Polen sowie Investitionen in Maßnahmen zum Umweltschutz in Ochsenfurt, Offstein und Plattling. Hervorzuheben sind zudem Logistik- und Infrastrukturprojekte, wie sie in den Werken Offenau, Offstein und Rain sowie in Cagny/Frankreich umgesetzt wurden.