jump to content

jump to navigation

Industrialization and the triumph of sugar beet

1820s
In contrast to Germany, beet sugar production in France continues to be government-funded and thus this branch of industry endures. Consequently, it is hardly surprising that major innovations like the development of juice extraction through maceration by Mathieu de Dombasle originate in France.
1829
In Kirchwiedern/Moravia imperial-royal senior lieutenant Franz Grebner founds the first Austrian beet sugar factory after the end of the Continental System. It is later relocated to nearby Dačice where its director Jakob Christoph Rad will invent the cube sugar.
1834
In Quedlinburg the brothers Louis and Carl Hanewald together with Conradin Friedrich Eduard Zier and Ernst Wilhelm Arnoldi found a sugar factory and market the sugar production procedure which is applied there. With this, the founding of more than 100 beet sugar factories is encouraged.
1837
Founding of the „Badische Gesellschaft für Zuckerfabrikation“ [Baden company for sugar production] in Waghäusel. There, Sebastian Schuzenbach develops a method where sugar beets are preserved before the sugar extraction through drying. By this means, sugar can be produced throughout the year resulting in a better utilization of the facilities.
1847
Eilhard Mitscherlich develops a handy polarimeter which is then used for sugar determination in almost every sugar factory.
1848
First usage of a steam boiler in the sugar industry.
As from 1850
The competition between cane and beet sugar leads to a dramatic drop in prices. Thus, sugar becomes affordable for the masses.
1850
In reaction by the sugar manufacturers to the beet tax, which has already been introduced in 1841, the "Verein für die Rübenzuckerindustrie im Zollverein" [association for the beet sugar industry within the customs union] is founded in Magdeburg. It is the first German industrial association.
1851
The journal of the association for the beet sugar industry within the customs union is published for the first time. These and subsequent sugar related journals speed up technical progress tremendously as renowned chemists, technicians and entrepreneurs have their say, former experiences are discussed and further research is encouraged.
1865
Julius Robert develops the diffusion methods for juice extraction and thus lays the essential foundations for the development of sugar factories to large enterprises.
1867
In Berlin, the research institute for the sugar industry is founded.
Around 1880
40 % of the European beet sugar are produced in the empire turning sugar into the main export product of the empire.
1885
Founding of the sugar Berufsgenossenschaft [occupational insurance association].
1891
Founding of the Verein der Rohzuckerfabriken im Deutschen Reich [raw sugar factories association in the German Reich].
1897
Merging of the entire German sugar industry into the Verein der Deutschen Zuckerindustrie [German sugar industry association] and formation of the raw sugar factories syndicate. A year later, the refineries syndicate follows.
Founding of the International Commission for Uniform Methods of Sugar Analysis (ICUMSA) in Hamburg at Alexander Herzfeld’s suggestion.
1902
Conclusion of the Brussels sugar convention. Only this international trade agreement, signed by the most important beet and cane sugar producers, brings the ruinous premiums race to an end and guarantees the sugar producers their national market. Cartels and export incentives are abolished.
1914-18
World War I: The wartime economy, government controlled since 1915, limits beet cultivation to a great extent, in particular to the benefit of cereals cultivation. Shortage of workers, price increases for auxiliary material, the low pay of the beets and a low sugar price make the beet cultivation in Germany go down by over 25 percent. By the end of the war only one third of the pre-war amount of sugar is still produced in Europe.
1920
The Badische Gesellschaft für Zuckerfabrikation [Baden company for sugar production ] in Waghäusel and the sugar factory Frankenthal join together to form a special interest group. Shortly after, the sugar factories in Heilbronn, Stuttgart and Offstein follow with their plants.
1926
Founding of the Süddeutsche Zucker-Aktiengesellschaft based in Mannheim by the sugar companies of the special interest group.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Die Industrialisierung und der Siegeszug der Zuckerrübe

1820er
Im Gegensatz zu Deutschland wird die Rübenzuckerproduktion in Frankreich weiterhin staatlich gefördert und so bleibt dieser Industriezweig dort bestehen. So ist es auch nicht verwunderlich, dass bedeutende Innovationen, wie die Entwicklung der Saftgewinnung durch Mazeration von Mathieu de Dombasle, aus Frankreich stammen.
1829
In Kirchwiedern/Mähren gründet k.k. Oberleutnant Franz Grebner die erste österreichische Rübenzuckerfabrik nach Aufhebung der Kontinentalsperre. Sie wird später in das nahe gelegene Datschitz verlegt, wo ihr Direktor Jakob Christoph Rad den Würfelzucker erfinden wird.
1834
In Quedlinburg gründen die Brüder Louis und Carl Hanewald gemeinsam mit Conradin Friedrich Eduard Zier und Ernst Wilhelm Arnoldi eine Zuckerfabrik und vermarkten das dort angewendete Zuckergewinnungsverfahren. Damit wird die Gründung von mehr als 100 Rübenzuckerfabriken angeregt.
1837
Gründung der badischen Gesellschaft für Zuckerfabrikation in Waghäusel. Sebastian Schuzenbach entwickelt hier ein Verfahren, bei dem die Zuckerrüben vor der Zuckergewinnung durch Trocknen konserviert werden. Hierdurch kann ganzjährig Zucker produziert und eine bessere Ausnutzung der Fabrikanlagen gewährleistet werden.
1847
Eilhard Mitscherlich entwickelt ein handliches Polarimeter, das anschließend in nahezu jeder Zuckerfabrik zur Zuckerbestimmung verwendet wird.
1848
Erster Einsatz eines Dampfkessels in der Zuckerindustrie
Ab ca. 1850
Der Konkurrenzkampf zwischen Rohr- und Rübenzucker führt zu einem drastischen Preisverfall. So wird Zucker für die breite Masse erschwinglich.
1850
Als Reaktion der Zuckerfabrikanten auf die bereits 1841 eingeführte Rübensteuer wird in Magdeburg der Verein für die Rübenzuckerindustrie im Zollverein gegründet. Es handelt sich hierbei um den ersten deutschen Industrieverband.
1851
Erstmalig erscheint die Zeitschrift des Vereins für die Rübenzuckerindustrie im Zollverein. Diese und folgende zuckerbezogene Zeitschriften treiben die technischen Fortschritte enorm an, da hier namhafte Chemiker, Techniker und Unternehmer zu Wort kommen, bisherige Erfahrungen diskutiert und weitere Forschungen angeregt werden.
1865
Julius Robert entwickelt die Diffusionsverfahren zur Saftgewinnung und schafft damit die maßgebliche Voraussetzung der Entwicklung der Zuckerfabriken zu Großbetrieben.
1867
In Berlin wird das Forschungsinstitut für die Zuckerindustrie gegründet.
Um 1880
40 % des europäischen Rübenzuckers werden im Kaiserreich produziert, damit ist der Zucker das Hauptexportprodukt des Reiches.
1885
Gründung der Zucker-Berufsgenossenschaft.
1891
Gründung des Vereins der Rohzuckerfabriken im Deutschen Reich.
1897
Zusammenschluss der gesamten deutschen Zuckerindustrie zum Verein der Deutschen Zuckerindustrie sowie Bildung des Syndikats der Rohzuckerfabriken. Ein Jahr später folgt das Syndikat der Raffinerien.
Gründung der Internationalen Kommission für Einheitliche Methoden der Zuckeruntersuchung (ICUMSA) in Hamburg auf Anregung Alexander Herzfeldes.
1902
Abschluss der Brüsseler Zuckerkonvention. Erst dieses internationale Handelsabkommen, unterzeichnet von den wichtigsten Rüben- und Rohrzuckerproduzenten, beendet den ruinösen Prämienwettlauf und garantiert den Zuckerproduzenten ihren nationalen Markt. Kartelle und Exportprämien werden abgeschafft.
1914-18
Erster Weltkrieg: Die ab 1915 staatlich gelenkte Kriegswirtschaft schränkt den Rübenanbau, insbesondere zugunsten des Anbaus von Brotgetreide, stark ein. Arbeitermangel, Preissteigerungen für Hilfsstoffe, die schlechte Bezahlung der Rüben und ein niedriger Zuckerpreis lassen den Rübenanbau in Deutschland um über 25 % zurückgehen. Zum Ende des Krieges wird in Europa noch ein Drittel der Vorkriegsmenge an Zucker gewonnen.
1920
Die Badische Gesellschaft für Zuckerfabrikation in Waghäusel und die Zuckerfabrik Frankenthal schließen sich zu einer Interessengemeinschaft zusammen. Kurz darauf schließen sich auch die Zuckerfabriken Heilbronn, Stuttgart und Offstein mit ihren Betrieben an.
1926
Gründung der Süddeutschen Zucker-Aktiengesellschaft mit Sitz in Mannheim durch die Zuckerunternehmen der Interessengemeinschaft.