jump to content

jump to navigation

The discovery of sugar beet – a revolution in European sugar production

The tremendous sugar price increase, caused by the end of cane sugar production in Santo Domingo, the world’s largest sugar producer at the end of the 18th century, together with the Napoleonic Continental System, cutting the European continent off from the English cane sugar trade, necessitated a search throughout Europe for sugar surrogates from domestic plants.
Various plants were used for experiments, among others grapes, corn, maple and sweet chestnuts. Eventually, the Prussian chemist Andreas Sigismund Marggraf succeeded in proving that the sugar in sugar cane also occurs in beet – and with this, a fascinating success story began.
1747
Andreas Sigismund Marggraf discovers that beet contains the same sugar as sugar cane. In the following years he publishes his research results. He is appointed head of the chemical laboratory and later director of the physical class of the Prussian Academy of Sciences in Berlin.
1761
After further experiments, Marggraf presents sugar produced by himself to the Prussian king.
1799
Franz Carl Achard, one of Marggraf’s students, continues his teacher’s work with sugar beets and takes care of the practical realization. He also presents sugar samples to the Prussian king Frederick William III. The monarch fosters Achard’s research on a larger scale.
1800
The Silesian mountain refinery in Hirschberg processes beets for the first time and thus – independent of Achard – provides evidence of the ability to refine beet sugar.
1801
Achard builds the world’s first beet sugar factory at Cunern/Silesia and in the years to follow publishes several papers on sugar production from beets which circulate all over Europe.
Apart from the productional aspects Achard engages himself in beet cultivation. All sugar beet varieties known today trace back to the cultivations by Achard.
1805/06
Baron Moritz von Koppy builds a beet sugar factory on his property in Silesian Krayn. He is technically and scientifically supported by Achard. Through their cooperation and Koppy’s idea to also use the by-products of the sugar production, this factory develops into the first one to make a profit. In 1811, the production site is destroyed by a fire and it is not until three years later that Koppy’s son can resume the sugar production in Krayn.
1806-1813
Due to the Napoleonic Continental System large sections of continental Europe are cut off from the English colonial produce trade. This gives fresh impetus to the beet sugar production and numerous beet sugar factories emerge. Napoleon’s beet sugar friendly legislation additionally fosters this development leading to a vivid exchange between Achard and many companies from all over Europe.
1818/19
After the end of the Napoleonic Continental System cane sugar trade flourishes again and the sugar price drops to a third. Gradually, the German beet sugar factories become unprofitable and have to close down.
After the campaign in 1821/22
The last German beet sugar manufacturer Georg Friedrich Wilhelm von Koppy closes down the factory in Krayn which he has inherited from his father and devotes himself to beet seed breeding. The beet variety Betterave de Koppy or Betterave de Silésie, which is particularly popular in France and Belgium, originates from his cultivation.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Die Entdeckung der Zuckerrübe – eine Revolution in der europäischen Zuckerproduktion

Der enorme Zuckerpreisanstieg, verursacht durch das Erliegen der Rohrzuckerproduktion auf San Domingo, dem weltweit größten Zuckerproduzenten Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts sowie die napoleonische Kontinentalsperre, durch die das europäische Festland vom englischen Rohrzuckerhandel abgeschnitten wurde, führten dazu, dass in ganz Europa zunehmend nach Zuckersurrogaten aus einheimischen Pflanzen gesucht wurde.
Für Versuche wurden verschiedene Pflanzen herangezogen, unter anderem Weintrauben, Mais, Ahorn und Esskastanien. Schließlich gelang es dem preußischen Chemiker Andreas Sigismund Marggraf, den im Zuckerrohr vorkommenden Zucker auch in der Rübe nachzuweisen – und damit begann eine spannende Erfolgsgeschichte.
1747
Andreas Sigismund Marggraf entdeckt, dass die Runkelrübe den gleichen Zucker enthält wie das Zuckerrohr. In den folgenden Jahren veröffentlicht er seine Forschungsergebnisse und wird zum Leiter des Chemischen Laboratoriums ernannt, später sogar zum Direktor der Physikalischen Klasse der Preußischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Berlin.
1761
Nach weiteren Versuchen legt Marggraf dem preußischen König selbst produzierten Zucker aus Rüben vor.
1799
Franz Carl Achard, ein Schüler Marggrafs, setzt die Arbeiten seines Lehrers mit Zuckerrüben fort und bemüht sich weiter um die praktische Umsetzung. Auch er legt dem preußischen König Friedrich Wilhelm III. Zuckerproben vor. Der Monarch fördert die Forschungen Achards im größeren Stil.
1800
Die Schlesische Gebirgsraffinerie in Hirschberg verarbeitet erstmals Runkelrüben und liefert so unabhängig von Achard den Beweis der Raffinierbarkeit von Rübenzucker.
1801
Achard lässt in Cunern/Schlesien die erste Rübenzuckerfabrik der Welt errichten und veröffentlicht in der Folgezeit mehrere Schriften zur Zuckerfabrikation aus Runkelrüben, die sich in ganz Europa verbreiten. Neben den produktionstechnischen Aspekten beschäftigt sich Achard auch mit der Rübenzucht. Alle heute bekannten Zuckerrübensorten gehen ursprünglich auf die Züchtungen des Forschers zurück.
1805/06
Freiherr Moritz von Koppy errichtet auf seinem Gut im schlesischen Krayn eine Rübenzuckerfabrik. Dabei wird er technisch und wissenschaftlich von Achard unterstützt. Durch ihre Zusammenarbeit und Koppys Idee, auch die „Abfallprodukte“ der Zuckerproduktion zu verwerten, entwickelt sich diese Fabrik zur ersten, die Gewinne erwirtschaften kann. 1811 wird die Produktionsstätte durch ein Feuer zerstört und erst drei Jahre später kann Koppys Sohn die Zuckererzeugung in Krayn wieder aufnehmen.
1806-1813
Durch die napoleonische Kontinentalsperre kommt es zur Abschottung weiter Teile Kontinentaleuropas vom englischen Kolonialwarenhandel. Dies gibt der Rübenzuckergewinnung großen Aufwind und es entstehen zahlreiche Rübenzuckerfabriken. Durch Napoleons rübenzuckerfreundliche Gesetzgebung wird diese Entwicklung zusätzlich befördert und es findet ein reger Austausch zwischen Achard und vielen Unternehmern aus ganz Europa statt.
1818/19
Nach der Aufhebung der Kontinentalsperre blüht der Rohrzuckerhandel wieder auf und die Zuckerpreise fallen auf etwa ein Drittel der Preise. Nach und nach stellen die unrentabel gewordenen deutschen Rübenzuckerfabriken ihren Betrieb wieder ein.
Nach der Kampagne 1821/22
Als letzter deutscher Rübenzuckerfabrikant stellt Georg Friedrich Wilhelm von Koppy den Betrieb seiner vom Vater ererbten Fabrik in Krayn ein und widmet sich der Rübensamenzucht. Die vor allem in Frankreich und Belgien beliebte Rübensorte Betterave de Koppy oder Betterave de Silésie entstammt seiner Zucht.