jump to content

jump to navigation

Skin: responsive-no-margin_Screen

Mannheim headquarters

History of the Lenel family

The estate of Richard Lenel was constructed at Maximilianstraße 10 in 1910. The son of industrialist Viktor Lenel, Richard was born in Mannheim in 1869. After completing his studies and several foreign trips, he took over the management of his family's privately held company "Lenel, Bensinger & Co." in 1897. "Rheinische Gummi- und Celluloidfabrik" [Rhenish rubber and celluloid factory] was founded by Viktor Lenel, his brother Alfred, businessman Friedrich Bensinger and the Hohenemser & Söhne bank. The company, which employed 6,000 persons, had by the first world war become one of the most important of its kind in the world, using celluloid to produce, among other things, the famous Schildkröt [tortoise] brand dolls and table tennis balls.
In 1920, Richard Lenel was elected president of the Mannheim Chamber of Commerce, an office previously held by his father and grandfather. Thirteen years later, the National Socialist party forced him to resign from the office even though Lenel and his family had already withdrawn from the Jewish community in 1902. Together with his wife and two eldest sons, he tried to retain the family business and associated assets. It was not until his sons were rounded up and hauled to the Dachau concentration camp after the pogrom during the night of November 9, 1938 (Reichspogromnacht 1938) that the family decided to leave for England and later move to the United States. Richard Lenel had to leave behind all his possessions - including the estate, the company and liquid assets. Villa Lenel was used by the American occupying forces after the war. However as a result of damage caused during and after the war, it eventually became uninhabitable. After Meckel GmbH sold the property to Südzucker AG, it was demolished.
In 1947, Lenel and his wife accepted an invitation from Josef Braun, the first Lord Mayor of Mannheim after the second world war, to return to Germany. In October 1949, Richard Lenel was awarded honorary citizenship of Mannheim and became the first honorary president of the chamber of industry and commerce. After his death in August 1950, his remains were buried in the family plot in the Jewish cemetery in Mannheim.
The sandstone pillar was part of the estate's former garden fence and is the only original part of the Lenel family manor remaining to the present day. It now stands close to its original location on the premises of Südzucker AG.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Standort Mannheim

Die Geschichte der Familie Lenel

Im Jahr 1910 wurde auf dem Grundstück Maximilianstraße 10 das Anwesen von Richard Lenel errichtet. Geboren 1869 in Mannheim als Sohn des Fabrikanten Viktor Lenel, übernahm er 1897 nach einer Lehre und mehreren Auslandsreisen die Geschäftsführung des Familienunternehmens „Lenel, Bensinger & Co.“ Die von Viktor Lenel, dessen Bruder Alfred, dem Kaufmann Friedrich Bensinger und dem Bankhaus Hohenemser & Söhne gegründete Firma „Rheinische Gummi- und Celluloidfabrik“ entwickelte sich mit 6.000 Mitarbeitern bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg zum bedeutendsten Unternehmen seiner Art auf der Welt und stellte unter anderem aus Zelluloid die berühmten Puppen und Tischtennisbälle der Marke Schildkröt her.
1920 wurde Richard Lenel - wie bereits sein Vater und Großvater vor ihm - zum Präsidenten der Mannheimer Handelskammer gewählt. 13 Jahre später zwangen ihn die Nationalsozialisten, dieses Amt niederzulegen, obwohl Lenel bereits 1902 mit seiner Familie aus der jüdischen Gemeinde ausgetreten war. Mit seiner Frau und den beiden ältesten Söhnen versuchte er, das Familienunternehmen und das damit verbundene Vermögen zu erhalten. Erst nachdem seine Söhne in der Reichspogromnacht 1938 in das Konzentrationslager nach Dachau verschleppt wurden, beschloss die Familie, das Land in Richtung England und später den USA zu verlassen. Richard Lenel musste sein Hab und Gut - darunter das Anwesen, die Firma sowie Barvermögen - aufgeben. Die Villa Lenel wurde in den Nachkriegsjahren von der US-amerikanischen Besatzung genutzt. Schließlich war sie aber durch die Zerstörungen im und nach dem Krieg unbewohnbar geworden und wurde mit dem Verkauf des Grundstücks durch die Firma Meckel GmbH an die Südzucker AG abgerissen.
1947 nahm das Ehepaar Lenel von Josef Braun, dem ersten Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Mannheim nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, die Einladung nach Deutschland zurückzukehren, an. Im Oktober 1949 wurden Richard Lenel das Ehrenbürgerrecht von Mannheim sowie der Titel des ersten Ehrenpräsidenten der Industrie- und Handelskammer verliehen. Nach seinem Tod im August 1950 wurde er im Familiengrab auf dem Jüdischen Friedhof in Mannheim beigesetzt.
Der Pfeiler aus Sandstein war Teil des Gartenzauns und blieb als einziges Originalbauteil des ehemaligen Anwesens der Familie Lenel bis heute erhalten. Er steht nun nahe seiner ursprünglichen Stelle auf dem Firmengelände der Südzucker AG.