jump to content

jump to navigation

Sugar factory Offenau

Overview

NameZuckerfabrik Offenau
Founded1971
FounderSüdzucker AG
Type of companyPlant of Südzucker AG
1961/62
Reorganization of the sugar industry in Baden-Wuerttemberg: shutdown of the plants in Züttlingen, Heilbronn and Stuttgart, in return new construction of Offenau and extension of Waghäusel.
June 1964
In the supervisory board meeting, the purchase of the site of about 110 hectares in the communal district Offenau/Duttenberg in the administrative district Heilbronn, the so-called golden meadow, is approved.
October 1967
Decision to build the sugar factory Offenau with a daily capacity of 6,000 tonnes, concurrent drawing up of a redundancy package for the employees affected by the shutdowns in Züttlingen, Heilbronn and Stuttgart.
Winter 1967
As the first access road is constructed, the cultural heritage preservation works begin. It is expected to find only few prehistoric and early historic settlement remains. A volunteer of the historic museum of Heilbronn recognizes a Roman settlement in brick remains and shards on the field. In spring 1969, a dig is scheduled. Apart from the Roman settlement, a Bronze Age barrow (about 1200 BC) with a diameter of six meters is discovered. In there, they find an oval stone setting of 2.5 meters length where the remains of a burnt body have been scattered into. A second stone circle with a diameter of ten meters is found, too. This big grave enclosure does not have to give way to the construction works and – thanks to a suggestion of the Südzucker executive board - can be preserved on the factory premises of today. Until fall 1971, 227 fire and skeletal graves are recovered, a strip of ten meters width which parallels a paved street toward Bad Wimpfen, the Roman town.
1969
Last difficulties concerning the land acquisition are finally resolved, the construction works begin in February.
At first, the two sugar silos, the streets and railroad tracks are built. From July to October, the examination and shipping building, the main operation building with workshop and magazine as well as the administration building are constructed. In the following year, the central control office with turbine and boiler house, lime station, pellet drying, dry pellet warehouse and beet yard are installed.
20 September 1971
The plant is put into operation, the beet processing commences. At this time, the Offenau plant is the most modern sugar factory in Europe. The beet delivery takes place 70 percent on rail, 30 percent on the road. From about 80,000 tonnes of sugar, 35,000 tonnes of pellets with dry molasses and 15,000 tonnes of molasses are produced.
In the same year, company dwellings are built: three twelve-family and eight single-family houses with garages.
For the water supply of the plant, an existing small hydraulic power station on the Jagst is acquired by purchase and appropriately rebuilt. From the Jagst, 1,800 cubic meters of water are used per hour. The emergency water is also guaranteed through a smaller pipeline during downtime.
High rack warehouse.
1996
For an optimal energy utilization, the steam which is required for the production process is also used for electricity generation (combined heat and power).
As from 2002
Alteration of the small package station.
2005
Within the Südzucker Group, the Offenau plant is a substantial site for the packaging and supply of the food retail market with household packages. In order to meet the logistic requirements at any time, an ultramodern high rack warehouse with 16,000 pallet spaces is put into service in 2005.
2016
Investments with a total volume of 4.6 million euros:
- Expansion of the syrup storage by one tank
- New lighting and ventilation in the dispatch area
- Beginning of the renovation of the sugar dissolving in the sugar house

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Zuckerfabrik Offenau

1996
25 Jahre Werk Offenau
Download (PDF, 2,18 MB)

Im Überblick

NameZuckerfabrik Offenau
Gründung1971
GründerSüdzucker AG
GesellschaftsformWerk der Südzucker AG
1961/62
Umstrukturierung der baden-württembergischen Zuckerindustrie: Schließung der Werke Züttlingen, Heilbronn und Stuttgart, dafür Neubau von Offenau und Ausbau von Waghäusel.
Juni 1964
In der Aufsichtsratssitzung wird der Erwerb des Geländes mit rund 110 Hektar Fläche auf der Gemarkung Offenau/Duttenberg im Landkreis Heilbronn, die sogenannte „goldene Aue", genehmigt.
Oktober 1967
Entschluss zum Bau der Zuckerfabrik Offenau mit einer Tageskapazität von 6.000 Tonnen, gleichzeitige Erarbeitung eines Sozialplans für die von der Stilllegung betroffenen Mitarbeiter in Züttlingen, Heilbronn und Stuttgart.
Winter 1967
Beim Bau der ersten Zufahrtsstraße beginnen die Sicherungsarbeiten der Bodendenkmalpflege. Man vermutet nur wenige vor- und frühgeschichtliche Besiedlungsreste. Ein freiwilliger Mitarbeiter des Historischen Museums Heilbronn erkennt an Ziegelresten und Scherben im Acker eine römische Siedlungsstelle. Im Frühjahr 1969 wird dort eine Ausgrabung angesetzt. Außer der Römischen Siedlungsstelle wird ein bronzezeitlicher Grabhügel (ca. 1200 v. Chr.) von 6 Metern Durchmesser gefunden, darin mittig eine ovale Steinsetzung von 2,5 Metern Länge, wohinein die Reste einer verbrannten Leiche gestreut worden sind. Ein zweiter Steinkreis mit 10 Metern Durchmesser wird gefunden. Diese große Grabeinfriedung muss den Bauarbeiten nicht weichen und kann dank eines Vorschlags des Vorstands der Südzucker im jetzigen Werksgelände erhalten und konserviert werden. Zudem werden bis Herbst 1971 227 Brand- und Skelettgräber geborgen, ein 10 Meter breiter Streifen, der parallel zu einer gepflasterten Straße verläuft, Richtung Bad Wimpfen, der Römerstadt.
1969
Letzte Schwierigkeiten beim Landerwerb werden endgültig geklärt, im Februar wird mit dem Bau begonnen. Zunächst entstehen die beiden Zuckersilos, die Straßen und Gleisanlagen. Von Juli bis Oktober werden das Sicht- und Versandgebäude, das Hauptbetriebsgebäude mit Werkstatt und Magazin sowie das Verwaltungsgebäude gebaut. Im Jahr darauf folgen Kraftzentrale mit Turbinen- und Kesselhaus, Kalkstation, Schnitzeltrocknung, Trockenschnitzellager und Rübenhof.
20. September 1971
Inbetriebnahme der Fabrik, die Rübenverarbeitung wird aufgenommen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt ist die Zuckerfabrik die modernste Europas. Die Rübenlieferung erfolgt zu 70 Prozent auf der Schiene, zu 30 Prozent auf der Straße. Aus circa 80.000 Tonnen Zucker werden 35.000 Tonnen Pellets mit angetrockneter Melasse und 15.000 Tonnen Melasse hergestellt.
Im selben Jahr werden Werkswohnungen gebaut, drei Zwölffamilien- und acht Einfamilienhäuser mit Garagen.
Für die Wasserversorgung des Werkes wird ein bestehendes kleines Flusskraftwerk an der Jagst käuflich erworben und entsprechend umgebaut. Aus der Jagst werden während der Kampagne circa 1.800 Kubikmeter Wasser pro Stunde verwendet. Auch die Notwasserversorgung kann von dort durch eine kleinere Rohrleitung während der Stillstandzeit gewährleistet werden.
Hochregallager.
1996
Zur optimalen Energieausnutzung wird der für den Produktionsprozess erforderliche Dampf zur Stromerzeugung mitgenutzt (Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung).
Ab 2002
Umbau der Kleinpackstation.
2005
Das Werk Offenau ist innerhalb der Südzucker-Gruppe ein bedeutender Standort für die Abpackung und Belieferung des Lebensmitteleinzelhandels mit Haushaltspackungen. Um den daraus resultierenden logistischen Anforderungen jederzeit gerecht zu werden, wird im Jahr 2005 ein hochmodernes Hochregallager mit 16.000 Palettenstellplätzen am Standort in Betrieb genommen.
2016
Investitionen mit einem Gesamtvolumen von 4,6 Millionen Euro:
- Erweiterung der Dicksaftlagerung um einen Tank
- Neue Beleuchtung und Belüftung der Versandhalle
- Beginn der Sanierung der Zuckerauflösung im Zuckerhaus
Zum Betrachten von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie den Acrobat Reader, den Sie bei Adobe kostenlos herunterladen können.