jump to content

jump to navigation

German sugar factories

Rain

About the Rain factory
  • Started operations in 1957
  • Daily beet processing capacity during the campaign: about 12,000 tonnes
  • Annual beet processing capacity: 1.3 to 1.6 million tonnes
  • Annual sugar production: 200,000 to 250,000 tonnes
  • Raw material supplier: approximately 2,900 farmers
  • Employees: about 240
  • Campaign duration: about 120 days
  • Storage capacity of the silos: about 145.000 tonnes 
Factory and production performance
The factory operates twenty-four hours per day during the campaign, which lasts from September to January. About 12,000 tonnes of beets are delivered and converted daily. During an average sugar campaign, the annual sugar needs of a German citizen are met in less than two seconds. The factory can produce enough sugar in one year to satisfy the needs of more than five million consumers. The seven silos can hold 145,000 tonnes of sugar.
Employees
Most workers are specialists qualified to handle the sugar extraction equipment, as well as repair and maintain the sophisticated technical systems.
Research
In addition to the systems for manufacturing sugar, the factory has a laboratory in which soil samples or plant diseases are analyzed, depending on the time of year. Every year, lab technicians analyze about 50,000 soil samples for the purpose of making fertilizer recommendations and carry out around 4,000 investigations into plant diseases.
Partnership with farmers
Südzucker Group relies on its close partnership with the agricultural industry. Sugar beets are planted for the factory by 2,900 farmers. The area covered includes Swabia, upper Bavaria and parts of Württemberg. Beet cultivation and payment are regulated by a contract. In areas such as beet growing and the associated logistics, among others, Südzucker and farmers work in partnership in order to ensure that the quality of the raw materials supplied to the factories; i.e., beets, is the best possible, and that they arrive at the right time.
Varieties of sugar produced at the Rain factory
The sugar produced in Rain is shipped loose in dry bulk tankers, in fifty-kilogram and twenty-five kilogram sacks, as well as big bags. Also produced at the plant are fine sugar in one-kilogram packages, 3plus1 and 2plus1 jam sugar in 500-gram packages and sugar syrup. Animal feed, molasses and carbolic lime, sold as "Carbokalk", are valuable byproducts also produced at the Rain factory.
address = Donauwörther Straße 50, 86641 Rain
Südzucker AG Werk Rain
Donauwörther Straße 50
86641 Rain/Lech

Rain

Donauwörther Straße 50
86641 Rain/Lech
Germany
Phone ++49 90 90/9 98-0

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Zuckerfabriken in Deutschland

Werk Rain

2007
50 Jahre Zuckerfabrik Rain
Download (PDF, 1,26 MB)

Im Überblick: das Werk Rain in Zahlen
  • In Betrieb seit: 1957
  • Tägliche Rübenverarbeitungskapazität in der Kampagne: ca. 12.000 Tonnen
  • Jährliche Rübenverarbeitungsmenge: zw. 800.000 und 1,6 Millionen Tonnen
  • Jährlich erzeugter Zucker: zw. 125.000 und 250.000 Tonnen
  • Rohstofflieferant: rund 2.900 Landwirte
Während der Kampagne von September bis Dezember/Januar arbeitet die Fabrik ohne Unterbrechung im 24-h-Betrieb. Pro Tag werden circa 12.000 Tonnen Rüben angeliefert und verarbeitet. In weniger als zwei Sekunden wird in einer mittleren Kampagne Zucker für den Jahresbedarf eines Bundesbürgers erzeugt. Die jährliche Produktion des Werkes reicht aus, den Bedarf von über 5 Millionen Verbrauchern zu decken. In den sieben Silos des Werkes ist Raum für 145.000 Tonnen Zucker.
Mitarbeiter
Während der Kampagne sind rund 240, in der übrigen Zeit rund 220 Mitarbeiter im Werk beschäftigt. Die meisten Mitarbeiter sind qualifizierte Fachkräfte, die neben der Technik der Zuckergewinnung auch Reparatur und Wartung der komplizierten technischen Anlagen beherrschen.
Forschung
Neben den Anlagen zur Herstellung von Zucker gibt es im Werk ein Laboratorium, das sich je nach Jahreszeit mit Bodenanalytik und der Untersuchung von Pflanzenkrankheiten befasst. Hier werden pro Jahr ca. 50.000 Bodenproben zur Erstellung von Düngeempfehlungen analysiert und ca. 4.000 Untersuchungen auf Pflanzenkrankheiten durchgeführt.
Partner Landwirt
Die Südzucker-Gruppe stützt sich auf die enge Verbindung zur Landwirtschaft. Rund 2.900 Landwirte bauen Zuckerrüben für das Werk Rain an. Der Einzugsbereich umfasst die Gebiete Schwaben, Oberbayern und Teile von Württemberg. Anbau und Bezahlung der Rüben sind vertraglich geregelt. Unter anderem in den Bereichen Rübenanbau und Rübenlogistik arbeiten Südzucker und die Landwirte partnerschaftlich zusammen, um so die Versorgung der Fabriken mit dem Rohstoff Rübe in bestmöglicher Qualität und zur richtigen Zeit zu sichern.
Zuckersorten aus Rain
Der in Rain produzierte Zucker wird lose in Silofahrzeugen, in 25- und 50-Kilogramm-Säcken sowie Big Bags ausgeliefert. Zudem erzeugt das Werk Fein Zucker im 1-Kilogramm-Paket, Gelier Zucker 3plus1 und 2plus1 im 500-Gramm-Paket sowie Flüssigzucker. Bei der Zuckergewinnung entstehen in Rain außerdem die wertvollen Nebenprodukte Futtermittel, Melasse und Carbokalk.
address = Donauwörther Straße 50, 86641 Rain
Südzucker AG Werk Rain
Donauwörther Straße 50
86641 Rain/Lech

Werk Rain

Donauwörther Straße 50
86641 Rain/Lech
Telefon 0 90 90/9 98-0
Zum Betrachten von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie den Acrobat Reader, den Sie bei Adobe kostenlos herunterladen können.