jump to content

jump to navigation

Skin: responsive-no-margin_Screen

Key areas of activity

Procurement

Procurement principles

A key part of Südzucker's sustainability program focuses on the value chain upstream of its production activities.
Südzucker Group’s purchasing departments consider ecological, business and social aspects when procuring the goods and services required to ensure appropriate supplies of agricultural raw materials, operating supplies, capital and maintenance items, as well as services. The Supplier Code of Conduct is part of the competitive bidding process and contract negotiations. Together with Südzucker’s environmental, labor and social standards guidelines, this code of conduct ensures that procurement remains sustainable. It applies to suppliers along the entire value chain. Südzucker audits its suppliers’ sites to ensure they adhere to these principles. The purchasing department is subject to various annual audits and is certified in compliance with standards such as ISO 9001 or the International Food Standard.

Agricultural focus

Experimental cultivation, managing our farming operations and transferring knowledge contribute to both securing raw material supplies and improving the efficiencies of our raw material suppliers. Groupwide agricultural research focuses on science-based assistance, development of technology and consultation for all agricultural raw materials used by Südzucker Group. Sugar beets are front and center.

Advisory services for modern and sustainable farming

Our sugar beet business clearly demonstrates that planting and harvesting methods can be optimized by working with farmers' academic and research associations, our in-house farming and own research department, our Bodengesundheitsdienst division and research institutes such as the Sugar Beet Research Institute in Göttingen, Germany, and the International Institute for Beet Research in Brussels, Belgium. These enable us to provide farmers with comprehensive advisory services on subjects such as soil treatment, seed selection, fertilization, plant protection, soil fertility and harvest, and continuously work towards making sugar beet cultivation more sustainable, efficient and competitive. The aim of the Mont Blanc consultation initiative is to intensify and network the very diverse regionally coordinated consultation concepts and to share experiences among the experts of the group's companies.
What started out with a small number of participants has today developed into a large international network from all kinds of Areas both within and outside the Südzucker Group. Südzucker has established a systematic framework for this network. The findings from research work initiated and financed by Südzucker also feed into this network.

Sustainable Agriculture Initiative Platform

Südzucker is a member of the Sustainable Agriculture Initiative Platform (SAI), the leading global initiative for promoting sustainable farming methods. Food producers and their raw material suppliers join SAI to document their adherence to wide-ranging sustainability criteria.
In 2016, Südzucker AG and its beet growers in Germany, Belgium, France and Poland demonstrated that they comply with a comprehensive set of sustainability criteria related to sugar beet cultivation. AGRANA uses the Farm Sustainability Assessment developed by SAI to demonstrate sustainable agricultural practices at the farms under contract to supply sugar beets in Austria, Hungary, Slovakia, Czech Republic and Romania, for potatoes in Austria and apples in Hungary.

Biodiversity

Südzucker group launches and promotes countless programs that raw material suppliers use to contribute to biodiversity. Seed mixtures for flowers at the edge of the field have been distributed in Germany since 2014, and in France, Belgium and Poland since 2016. In Austria, a seed mixture of flowers was used as an alternative to other intermediate crops. This helps loosen the soil, mobilize nutrients and activate soil organisms in the fields. The blooming fields and field edges also provide an ideal easement for wildlife, a bee pasture and an attractive landscape.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Wesentliche Handlungsfelder

Beschaffung

Grundsätze der Beschaffung

Ein Schwerpunkt der Südzucker-Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten liegt bereits bei der der Produktion vorgelagerten Wertschöpfungskette.
Zur Sicherstellung der Versorgung mit agrarischen Rohstoffen, Hilfs- und Betriebsstoffen, Investitions- und Instandhaltungsgütern sowie Dienstleistungen werden von der Südzucker-Gruppe Waren und Dienstleistungen unter Beachtung ökologischer, wirtschaftlicher und sozialer Gesichtspunkte eingekauft. Bestandteil der Ausschreibungsverfahren und Vertragsverhandlungen mit Lieferanten ist der Verhaltenskodex für Lieferanten. Zusammen mit den Südzucker-Leitlinien für Umwelt-, Arbeits- und Sozialstandards stellt dieser Verhaltenskodex eine nachhaltige Beschaffung sicher. Er gilt für Lieferanten der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette. Südzucker führt Audits bei Lieferanten zur Überprüfung der Einhaltung dieser Prinzipien durch. Der Einkaufsbereich wird im Rahmen verschiedener jährlich stattfindender Audits, z. B. ISO 9001 oder International Food Standard, geprüft und zertifiziert.

Landwirtschaft im Fokus

Versuchsanbau, Bewirtschaftung eigener landwirtschaftlicher Betriebe und Wissenstransfer tragen sowohl zur Rohstoffsicherung als auch zur Effizienzsteigerung bei unseren Rohstofflieferanten bei. Eine konzernweite landwirtschaftliche Forschung setzt den Fokus auf die wissenschaftliche Unterstützung, Technologieentwicklung und Beratung für alle landwirtschaftlichen Rohstoffe innerhalb der Südzucker-Gruppe - im Mittelpunkt steht die Zuckerrübe.

Beratung für moderne und nachhaltige Landbewirtschaftung

Am Beispiel der Zuckerrübe lässt sich anschaulich zeigen, wie durch gemeinsame Wissens- und Forschungsplattformen von Landwirten, eigener Landwirtschaft und Forschung, Bodengesundheitsdienst und wissenschaftlichen Institutionen, wie z. B. dem Institut für Zuckerrübenforschung in Göttingen oder dem International Institute for Beet Research in Brüssel/Belgien, Anbau- und Erntemethoden optimiert werden. Dadurch können die Landwirte zu Themen wie z. B. Bodenbearbeitung, Auswahl des Saatguts, Düngung, Pflanzenschutz, Bodenfruchtbarkeit und Ernte umfassend beraten und der Zuckerrübenanbau im besten Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit stets effizienter und wettbewerbsfähiger werden. Ziel der Beratungsinitiative „Mont Blanc" ist die Intensivierung und Vernetzung der unterschiedlichsten regional abgestimmten Beratungskonzepte sowie der Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen den Experten der Konzerngesellschaften. 
Aus anfangs einigen wenigen Beteiligten ist heute ein großes, internationales Netzwerk aus den verschiedensten Bereichen innerhalb und außerhalb der Südzucker-Gruppe entstanden, für das Südzucker einen systematischen Rahmen aufgebaut hat. Auch die Erkenntnisse von Forschungsarbeiten, die von Südzucker initiiert und finanziert wurden, fließen in dieses Netzwerk mit ein.

Sustainable Agriculture Initiative Platform

Südzucker ist Mitglied der Sustainable Agriculture Initiative (SAI) Platform, der führenden Initiative zur Förderung nachhaltiger Anbaumethoden auf globaler Ebene. Mit der Zugehörigkeit zu SAI dokumentieren Lebensmittelhersteller und deren Rohstofflieferanten die Einhaltung umfassender Nachhaltigkeitskriterien.
Die Südzucker AG und ihre Zuckerrübenanbauer in Deutschland, Belgien, Frankreich und Polen haben 2016 die Einhaltung umfassender Nachhaltigkeitskriterien im Zuckerrübenanbau unter Beweis gestellt. AGRANA verwendet für den Nachweis nachhaltiger Agrarpraxis im Vertragsanbau für Zuckerrüben in Österreich, Ungarn, der Slowakei, Tschechien und Rumänien, für Kartoffeln in Österreich sowie für Äpfel in Ungarn das von SAI entwickelte Farm Sustainability Assessment.

Biodiversität

In der Südzucker-Gruppe werden zahlreiche Maßnahmen initiiert und gefördert, mit denen die Rohstofflieferanten ihren Beitrag zur Biodiversität leisten. Seit 2014 werden in Deutschland, seit 2016 auch in Frankreich, Belgien und Polen Saatmischungen für Blühstreifen am Feldrand ausgegeben. In Österreich wurde eine blühende Saatmischung als Alternative zu anderen Zwischenfrüchten verwendet. Auf den Feldern wird so der Boden gelockert, Nährstoffe mobilisiert und das Bodenleben aktiviert. Zusätzlich ergeben die blühenden Felder und Feldränder eine ideale Wildtieräsung und Bienenweide sowie ein attraktives Landschaftsbild.