jump to content

jump to navigation

Sugar

Sugar processing

By clicking on the picture above, you will be redirected to our sugar processing video on YouTube.
Sugar has been extracted from sugar beets cultivated in Germany for over 200 years. Much has changed since then. For instance, in 1836 it took twenty kilograms of beets to produce one kilogram of sugar, whereas today, only seven kilograms are required.

From beets to sugar

If you were to measure the time it takes to produce shimmering white sugar crystals from a beet that had just been delivered from the field to the factory, you would be surprised: On average, it takes less than eight hours.

From the field to the sugar package: the steps required to extract sugar

Sugar beet harvesting begins in September. The entire process is referred to as "the campaign". Samples are taken from each load of beets delivered to determine sugar content and other important elements. The amount of soil still on the beets is also analyzed. The prices paid for the beets and feedback given to beet farmers are determined based on the results of these tests. The beets are unloaded either by dumping or using a water jet. After being thoroughly washed, they are sent directly to the processing line or to the storage facility.

Juice extraction

The beets are sliced into thin strips, preheated in a cossette scalder and are then sent to an extraction tower. Water at 70° Celsius is poured through the device to extract the sugar and produce raw juice. The used cosettes are dried by means of screw presses and hot air.

Juice purification

A lime kiln is used to produce the natural substances lime and carbon dioxide, which are added sequentially to the raw juice to bind and precipitate out the non-sugar impurities. A clear, thin juice with a sugar content of about sixteen percent remains.

Evaporation

The thin juice is concentrated by heating to make a thick golden brown juice with a sugar content of about sixty-seven percent.

Crystallization

The thick juice is boiled until crystals are formed, which are a glowing golden yellow color because they are covered with syrup. The syrup is separated from the crystals in a centrifuge. Hot water is used to rinse off any residual syrup. The remaining sugar crystals are clear as glass, and the light refracted from them is white as snow. This sugar is dissolved and re-crystallized to produce refined sugar - sugar that is extremely pure.

Converting

The finished sugar is dried, cooled and stored in silos, and is subsequently withdrawn and further processed or packed. Over eighty percent of the sugar is shipped to the converting industry, which uses it to make confectioneries, beverages, baked goods, etc. Just under twenty percent of the sugar is converted to various types of household sugar and packaged.

Recycling

All the by-products of this process are returned to the natural cycle. The pressed slices of sugar beet are used as animal feed. The "Carbokalk" [carbolic lime] that is a by-product of processing the juice is an excellent fertiliser.

Download

Sugar processing diagram (PDF, 88.38 KB)
PDF-documents can be viewed with Acrobat Reader, which is available for free from Adobe.

zum Inhalt springen

zur Navigation springen

Zucker

Zuckergewinnung

Seit über 200 Jahren werden in Deutschland Zuckerrüben angebaut und daraus Zucker gewonnen. Seither hat sich vieles verändert: So mussten zum Beispiel 1836 noch 20 Kilogramm Rüben verarbeitet werden, um ein Kilogramm Zucker zu gewinnen - heute braucht man dafür nur noch sieben Kilogramm.

Von der Rübe zum Zucker

Würde man die Zeit messen, bis aus der Rübe, die frisch vom Feld in die Fabrik geliefert wird, weiß schimmernde Zuckerkristalle geworden sind, käme man auf ein überraschendes Ergebnis: Es sind durchschnittlich weniger als acht Stunden.

Vom Feld bis in die Zuckerpackung: die Stationen der Zuckergewinnung

Mit der Rübenernte im September beginnt die so genannte Kampagne. Von jeder angelieferten Fuhre Zuckerrüben werden Proben genommen und auf Zuckergehalt und weitere wichtige Inhaltsstoffe untersucht. Zudem wird festgestellt, wie viel Ackererde den Rüben anhaftet. Nach dieser Analyse richten sich auch der Preis der Rüben und die Anbauberatung. Durch Abkippen oder einen Wasserstrahl werden die Rüben entladen und nach gründlichem Waschen direkt in zur Verarbeitung oder in das Lager befördert.
Saftgewinnung
Die Rüben werden zu Schnitzeln zerkleinert, in der Schnitzelmaische vorgewärmt und in den Extraktionsturm befördert. In 70 Grad Celsius heißem Wasser löst sich der Zucker aus den Rübenzellen - es entsteht der Rohsaft. Die ausgelaugten Rübenschnitzel werden durch Pressen und Heißluft getrocknet.
Saftreinigung
Im Kalkofen werden die natürlichen Stoffe Kalk und Kohlensäure gewonnen, die dem Rohsaft nacheinender zugesetzt werden, um die Nichtzuckerstoffe zu binden und auszufällen. Was übrig bleibt, ist klarer Dünnsaft mit rund 16 Prozent Zuckergehalt.
Safteindampfung
Der Dünnsaft wird in mehreren Stufen durch Erhitzen eingedickt, bis ein goldbrauner Dicksaft mit rund 67 Prozent Zuckergehalt entsteht.
Kristallisation
Der Dicksaft wird "gekocht", bis sich Kristalle bilden. Sie leuchten goldgelb, weil sie mit Sirup überzogen sind. Durch das Schleudern in Zentrifugen trennt sich der Sirup von den Kristallen. Die letzten Sirupreste werden mit heißem Wasser weggespült. Was dann zurückbleibt, sind die glasklaren Zuckerkristalle, in denen sich das Licht schneeweiß bricht. Weitere Kristallisationsschritte folgen. Durch Auflösen der dabei gewonnenen Zucker entsteht die Raffinade: Zucker von höchster Reinheit.
Weiterverarbeitung
Der fertige Zucker wird getrocknet, gekühlt und in Zuckersilos gelagert. Aus den Silos wird der Zucker entnommen und weiterverarbeitet bzw. abgepackt. Über 80 Prozent des Zuckers werden zur Herstellung von Süßwaren, Getränken, Backwaren etc. an die weiterverarbeitende Industrie geliefert. Knapp 20 Prozent des Zuckers werden zu den verschiedenen Sorten des Haushaltszuckersortiments weiterverarbeitet und abgepackt.

Wiederverwertung

Die bei der Zuckergewinnung anfallenden Nebenprodukte werden in den natürlichen Kreislauf zurückgeführt: Die gepressten Rübenschnitzel werden an das Vieh verfüttert, Melasse zur Anreicherung von Schnitzeln, für die Hefe- oder Mischfutterindustrie verwendet. Carbokalk, der bei der Saftreinigung anfällt ist ein ausgezeichneter Dünger. Die abgewaschene Erde wird aufbereitet.
Zum Betrachten von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie den Acrobat Reader, den Sie bei Adobe kostenlos herunterladen können.