jump to content

jump to navigation



1926: First merger

In 1926, five sugar companies (Frankenthal, Heilbronn, Offstein, Stuttgart, Waghäusel), that had formerly been associated through a syndicate from 1920, merged to form Süddeutsche Zucker-Aktiengesellschaft with headquarters in Mannheim. The merger enabled southern Germany's sugar industry to solve the problems arising from overproduction and the worldwide economic crisis.